Local Woman A Finalist

Sarah Beth Yoder, a law student from Moundsville, is a finalist for the title of Ms. Mountaineer at West Virginia University.

WVU officials said the award recognizes students’ exemplary academic achievement and extracurricular involvement. As part of Mountaineer Week, a male finalist and a female finalist will be named Mr. Mountaineer and Ms. Mountaineer at the WVU football game against Texas Christian University in Morgantown Saturday, Nov. 3.

Yoder, a graduate of Wheeling Park High School, is a member of Mountain honorary and the WVU women’s jazz choir. She serves as a student attorney representing West Virginia businesses for the WVU College of Law Entrepreneurship Law Clinic.

At the Mountaineer Week festivities, she will be escorted by her husband, Logan Hartle.

  • ??

Meanwhile, WVU student Joey West from Wheeling was a candidate for homecoming king at the university last month.

  • ??

Many Northern Panhandle residents, as well as a few former residents, have had accounts published in a new book, “When We Got Electic … A Living History of Northwest West Virginia.”

Todd Blair, publisher at Hometown Memories Publishing, said 350 people shared their memories and pictures. The book contains unedited stories of the contributors’ reflections on “the good old days” from their particular eras.

Blair said Hometown Memories Publishing includes a contest for the best stories. Winners include Connie Lee Funke of Moundsville, Michael E. Wyatt of Colliers and Carol Lou Ramser of Wheeling.

Other Wheeling residents represented are Dorothy Thorn Andreas, Thais Blatnik, Corrine Blum, Barbara Tuttle Bowman, David Bringman, Alicia L. Caseman, Lyda Davis Cox, Sue Marsh Cunningham, Judith Rae Daugherty, Edward Evanko Sr., Tom Griffith, Ruth Gamble Grob, Edward L. Hall Jr., Julian M. Hedrick, Alma Johnson, Wilbur Lee Kelvington, Bernard Lipscher, Angela McAfee, Ivan McCombs, Evelyn Miles, Kenneth B. Miles, Shirley L. Miller, Marjorie A. Medick Nelson, Harold C. Price, Hazel M. Ralbusky, Kathryn J. Renshaw, Agatha C. Ritchie, Karen Sue Robinson, Leonard M. Rycerz, Bob Schmitt, Shelva D. Tharp, Robert Grant Tridigo, Edwin B. Van Lynn, Jessie Wallace and Barbara Winters.

Weirton residents featured are Alberta E. Barnett, Frank Canellas, Lottie Mary R. Canellas, Anthony Eafrati, Lee Roy Edwards, Margie Flinn, Donald E. Glasure, Patricia Anne Kaminski, Dwight McUmar, Selena Pullen, Beverly Shingleton and Gladys Wiles.

Contributors from Wellsburg are Margaret E. Corbin, Anna Anitori DeGarmo, Millie Ferry, Michael M. Hensler, Jessica Hill, Virginia T. Huff, George Klein, George R. Lauck, Lois Martino, Eugene Misch, Patricia Ann Moore, Virginia Leona Fry Puskarich, Marlene Sebeck, Nancy Vargo, James L. Weaver and Ann A. Eileen Wood.

Other entries are from Eula Bennett, Paul W. Blake, Grace Bonar, Sharon Garten, Donovan Hartley, Ann Kuderski, Crosby S. McCartney, Kenneth “Bob” Parsons, Wallace Poling, Karen A. Shreve and Elizabeth M. Taylor, all of Moundsville.

Also published in the volume are Lorna Mason Clegg, Sandra Huggins, Floyd B. Johnson, Eleanor Mason Smith, Patricia L. Wood and Gary G. Yocum, all of New Martinsville, and Paden City residents Nora Ann Hood, Peggy Leach, Helen McIntyre and Wilma J. Price.

Contributors include Betty M. Cipoletti of Beech Bottom; Virginia Cigagna Gocksetter and Alfred J. Renshaw Jr., both of Benwood; Shirley Huff Oakes, Bethany; Hilbert W. Pyles of Burgettstown, Pa., formerly of Weirton; Lucille Murphy Hartley and Linda S. Long, both of Cameron; Betty J. Glenn, Chester; Harold W. Barkley, Ben Copenhaver, John H. Ford and Margaret Robinson, all of Colliers; Betty L. Jones of Globe, Ariz., formerly of Weirton; Susan Goodrich, Jacksonburg; Juanita Bissett, Neil Longwell and Nancy L. Watson, all of Littleton; Dorothy E. Ward, McMechen, Lesta A. Wells, Middlebourne; Myra Tunanidis of New Cumberland and Mary Joe Shafer Ficklin of Mesa, Ariz., formerly of Boggs Run, Weirton and Bethany.

Also represented in the book are Patsy J. Hall of Pine Grove; Janice K. Smith of Windsor Heights; Phillip E. Yoho of Pittsburgh, formerly of Moundsville; Jacqueline Mewha Rose of Pilot Mountain, N.C., and Lloyd H. Deuley of Porter, Texas, both formerly of Wellsburg; Laura M.R. Goddard, Proctor; Shirley Harter Haught, Reader; Shirley Herbold, Sistersville; Carl L. Edgell, Smithfield, W.Va.; Lena Derosa, St. Clairsville; Albert Arabia, Steubenville; Robert Lee Trulove of Surfside, S.C., formerly of Short Creek; Jo Martin of Tiplersville, Miss., formerly of Paden City ; John Angius, Ruth Axton, Helen J. Miller and Nancy Prochaska, all of Triadelphia; Shirley Williamson of Tucson, Ariz., and Mable Griffith of Washington, W.Va., both formerly of Wheeling, and Nancy Custer, Valley Grove.

Linda Comins can be reached via email at: Comins@news-register.net