Filing Under Way in Local Ohio Elections

Non-partisan, elections will happen in Ohio’s small villages, townships and school districts this year, and residents interested in seeking these offices have just over a month to file with their county board of elections.

The deadline to submit nominating petitions is 4 p.m. Aug. 10 so that the candidate’s name might appear on the Nov. 2 general election ballot.

  • One trustee and one fiscal officer will be elected in every township throughout the state, and in two local townships voters will be selecting a second trustee for an unexpired term.

In Harrison County, voters in Nottingham and Freeport townships will see races for unexpired township trustee terms.

Candidates must be at least 18 years old and residents of the township in which they seek office. They must gather valid petition signatures from at least 25 registered voters in the township and pay a $30 filing fee.

  • Two board of education members are to be selected in nearly every school district, though three will be elected in the Shadyside, Switzerland of Ohio and Conotton Valley local school districts.

Candidates must be at least 18 years old and residents of the school district in which they seek office.

The number of petition signatures needed to be on the ballot varies depending on the size of the school district. Prospective candidates in exempted village and local school districts need to gather 25 valid signatures, as do those living in city school districts with populations of less than 20,000 residents.

Candidates in larger school districts with a population of 20,000 to 50,000 residents need to obtain 75 signatures.

The cost to file is $30.

  • Non-partisan municipal elections will take place in small villages where fewer than 2,000 residents reside, and mayors and members of council will be selected.

Municipal elections also will take place in the city of St. Clairsville. Residents there will see on their ballot races for mayor and for three at-large council seats.

Prospective candidates must be residents of the municipality in which they seek office and over the age of 18.

For information concerning filing fees and the number of petition signatures needed, residents should contact their local board of elections:

  • Belmont County – 740-526-0188;
  • Harrison County – 740-942-8866;
  • Jefferson County – 740-283-8522; and
  • Monroe County – 740-472-0929.