Ohio Democrats Select National Delegates

Three Belmont County Democrats, and one from Jefferson County, were among those selected Thursday night as delegates to the 2012 Democratic National Convention.

Only a small number of party faithful turned out for the “pre-primary caucus” for Ohio’s 6th Congressional District, which took place this election year at Martins Ferry High School.

Across Ohio on Thursday, an overall total of 113 delegates to the 2012 Democratic National Convention were selected at events in each of the state’s 18 Congressional districts. The convention is slated for Sept. 3-7 in Charlotte, N.C.

In the 6th Congressional District, the Ohio Democratic Party dictated three men and three woman delegates be selected, as well one alternate female delegate. Just 28 Democrats marked paper ballots in Martins Ferry to elect the delegates during the caucus there Thursday.

Women selected were Belmont County residents Diane Conroy of Jacobsburg and Denise Leach of Barnesville, along with Allyson Patrice Beard who made the drive from Athens County. Drusilla Ice of Bellaire was chosen female alternate.

Former Belmont County Democratic Chairman Ed Good of Shadyside was selected as one of the male delegates, as was Jefferson County resident Jeremy Eikenberry of Mount Pleasant. A three-way tie resulted for the third delegate spot, and the name of Spencer Christian Young was drawn out of a hat. He was not present, and those in attendance did not know in which county he lived.

Candidates registered from throughout the 6th District, among the largest Congressional districts in the nation in terms of area. It encompasses most of East Ohio from Southern Mahoning County south along the eastern border to the Lawrence County tip, then upward and west into Scioto County. Party leaders had expected about 150 to turn out for the pre-primary caucus in the 6th District.