High School Seniors Receive Holtz Scholarship Awards

Former Notre Dame football coach and philanthropist Lou Holtz believes in giving back to his community, so a big part of the Lou Holtz/Upper Ohio Valley Hall of Fame events held Wednesday benefited students from across the region.

Founded in 1998, the Hall of Fame awards scholarships to area students. This year, 24 graduating seniors from the tri-state area received the 2012 Holtz Life Improvement Scholarships for trade schools. The scholarships are funded by Holtz.

Following are the 2012 recipients of the Holtz Life Improvement Scholarships for trade schools (with school district in parentheses):

  • Ohio: Sydney Tatgenhorst (American Spirit Academy); Elizabeth Heslen and Shelby Scyoc (Beaver Local); Kayla Cable (Buckeye On-Line School for Success); Kayla Armstrong (Bridgeport); Mason Shumard (Buckeye Local); Emily Hays (East Liverpool); Yasmina Como (Midland student at ELHS); Kathlynn Alford (Edison Local); Kayla Fogle (Harrison Central); Gage Leasure (Indian Creek); Christopher Banig (Martins Ferry); Breann Heath (Southern Local); Maranda Starliper (Steubenville); Josh McGuire (Steubenville Catholic Central); Alex Terpenning (Toronto); and Briana Ross (Wellsville).
  • West Virginia: Jake Chernik (Brooke); Brittany Krzeczowski (Oak Glen); Ryan Crago (Weir High); Christian Roe (Weirton Madonna); and Kyle Lestini (Wheeling Park).
  • Pennsylvania: Melissa Mosura and Carson Robertson (South Side).

Also honored Wednesday at the Lincoln Park Performing Arts Center were inductees to the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2012. They included East Liverpool native James E. Pastore, of West Point, Ohio the Hall of Fame inductee; Pittsburgh homebuilder and real estate developer J. Roger Glunt, winner of the Distinguished American award; the Nutting family, winner of the Family Heritage Award; and Salem, Ohio, couple Rob and Karrin Campf, winners of the “Do Right” Award.

The Hall of Fame holds an induction ceremony every year to name a new class of inductees and to recognize donors, volunteers, past inductees and board members. Proceeds from the fundraising event go to the operation of the Hall of Fame.

“We appreciate the support we’ve received over our 14 years of existence, and we hope to keep it going,” Hall of Fame President Frank “Digger” Dawson said.

In addition to the Class of 2012, Holtz announced the first recipients of the Lifetime Achievement award – ESPN’S Mark May and Larry Kehres, longtime football coach at the University of Mount Union (formerly Mount Union College), in Alliance, Ohio. Both men will have space dedicated to them in the Hall of Fame.