Senate Resume Deadline Today

Those interested in representing the 1st District in the West Virginia Senate have until 5 p.m. today to submit their resumes.

Resumes are being collected by 1st District Senate Replacement Committee member Teresa Toriseva, and there are three ways to send them:

– Drop off or mail resumes to Toriseva Law Offices, 1446 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003.

– Email resumes to TCT@Toriseva

– Fax resumes to Toriseva Law at 304-238-0149.

Committee members are to meet at 1 p.m. Thursday at the Brooke County Library in Wellsburg to consider the resumes. At that time, they will select three candidates to recommend for the seat to Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin.

Toriseva reported that as of Tuesday afternoon, she had received four applications from candidates seeking the 1st District Senate seat left vacant following the resignation of Orphy Klempa. The Democrat Klempa was elected Ohio County Commissioner in the Nov. 6 general election.

“We’ve received a lot of inquiries. … We can say there is heavy interest in the Senate seat, and that’s a good thing,” Toriseva said. “The word is getting out, and it shows there is interest and involvement in the community.”

Qualified applicants must be registered Democrats living in the 1st District.

The 1st District encompasses Hancock, Brooke, Ohio and a portion of Marshall County – though it did not include Marshall County when Klempa was elected in 2010 to the four-year term that expires in 2014.

West Virginia law also states that no two senators can reside in the same county. The second 1st District senator is Jack Yost, a Democrat living in Brooke County.

Toriseva said applicants from Brooke County can’t be considered – nor will the committee recommend candidates from Marshall County.

“We’re not looking at the extended district” that includes Marshall County, she acknowledged.

Resumes received thus far have come from both Hancock and Ohio counties, according to Toriseva.

Members of the 1st District Senate Replacement Committee are Toriseva and Ohio County Democrat Party Co-Chairman John Saunders representing Ohio County; Brooke County Democrat Chairman John Martino and his wife, Marge Martino, representing Brooke County; and Lil Douglass and Dino Rossi, representing Hancock County.