Ceremony Honors Mountain State Police

As part of National Police Week, officers from across the region gathered at Wheeling’s Heritage Port for a special recognition ceremony Friday afternoon.

Participating were Wheeling Vice Mayor Eugene Fahey, Wheeling Police Chief Shawn Schwertfeger, U.S. District Judge Frederick P. Stamp Jr. of the Northern District of West Virginia, the Rev. Darrell Cummings, the Wheeling Park High School Young Patriots choir and several honor guards.

In 2012, there were 120 police officers, including three from West Virginia, killed while on duty. All of these officers were honored Friday.

Throughout the course of its history, the Wheeling Police Department has seen nine officers die in the line of duty.

Those officers include:

  • John Brady, who died in September 1868;
  • Joseph Glenn, who died in January 1888;
  • Salavia “Lafe” Bowen, who died in December 1902;
  • Henry Carl Seamon, who died in February 1917;
  • Herman Bartels, who died in May 1922;
  • Ray Lazear, who died in January 1925;
  • Charles “Bud” Brunhaus, who died in January 1926;
  • James Wolfe, who died in January 1931; and
  • James Bailey, who died in October 1971.