Early Voting This Week for Municipal Election

Follansbee residents can cast ballots now for next week’s municipal election.

Early voting has begun for the June 11 election, and residents can vote at the City Building from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. each weekday and Saturday. Polls on Election Day will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. at the following locations:

  • 1st Ward – Follansbee Library, 844 Main St., rear meeting room entrance;
  • 2nd Ward – City Building, corner of Main and Penn streets;
  • 3rd Ward and 5th Ward – Follansbee Community House; and
  • 4th Ward – Rob Roksandich residence, 1299 Walker Road.

There are a number of contested races on the ballot, all for two-year terms.

Mayor David A. Velegol Jr. faces a challenge from Ben Arthurs, while Police Chief John W. Schwertfeger is opposed by Paul Arthurs.

Candidates for council in the 1st Ward are Vito (Skip) Cutrone and Thomas D. McMillan Jr.; and in the 2nd Ward, David A. Secrist and Honey Helen Hedmond.

City Clerk David P. Kurcina is running unopposed, as is City Attorney Michael E. Gaudio.

Dominic Micucci is running unopposed for an at-large council seat. Three other council candidates, meanwhile, have no opposition in their ward races – Kathy L. Santoro, 3rd Ward; Iris Ferrell, 4th Ward; and Tom Ludewig in the 5th Ward.