Local GOP Targeting Ferns’ House Seat in 2014

Ohio County Republicans say they will work to capture the House of Delegates seat occupied by Democrat Ryan Ferns in 2014.

Democrats presently outnumber Republicans 54-46 in the House of Delegates, and Republicans hope to gain control of the chamber in next year’s election.

“We need five more seats, and we’ll be pushing that hard,” said Patty Levenson, chairwoman of the Ohio County Republican Party.

The second delegate representing Ohio County is Republican Erikka Storch.

Ferns recently voted for House Minority Leader Tim Armstead, R-Kanawha, to be the next House speaker. He did not support the Democrat nominee – new House Speaker Tim Miley, D-Harrison.

Former Ohio County Republican Party Chairwoman Elgine McArdle voiced her support for Ferns – her neighbor – in last year’s election. But Levenson said she wants a Republican to win the seat in 2014.

“I will always support a Republican first because they stand behind our platform,” Levenson said. “So do most West Virginians, but they don’t know it. We’re not as visible or as good at getting our message out as we should be. That’s why we need to raise more money.”

Members of the Ohio County Republican Executive Committee discussed fundraising during their meeting Monday at the Ohio County Library.

Rebecca Trump, a field representative for the Senate campaign of Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., attended. Levenson said Ohio County Republicans also will work to see that a Republican is elected to the office presently occupied by Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., who is not seeking re-election.

Capito and former Delegate Pat McGeehan, R-Hancock, both filed for the Republican nomination in the race. No Democrat has yet announced a plan to run for West Virginia’s Senate seat in 2014.

It also was announced that Sam and Doris Kasley resigned from the Ohio County Republican Executive Committee. Levenson’s prior spot on the committee has yet to be filled, leaving three vacancies on the committee.

Ohio County Republicans interested in serving on the executive committee should call Levenson at 304-240-1767.