City Officers Honored For Safety Efforts

Police officers from throughout the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia came to Wheeling Thursday to be recognized for their highway safety accomplishments.

Wheeling police Cpl. Neil Fowkes coordinated the 2014 Northern Regional Highway Safety Awards banquet at Straub Automotive’s Nissan Building at The Highlands.

Fowkes awarded Lt. Jeff Murray of the Moundsville Police Department with the Highway Safety/Mothers Against Drunk Driving Officer of the Year Award. The Wheeling Police Department was awarded the top DUI Agency Award.

Wheeling officers honored for their safety work include Sgt. William Nolan, Patrolman Matthew Hronek, Sgt. Micah Zinn, PFC Robert Safreed, Sgt. Rusty Jewell, PFC Jason Martin and Lt. Michael Anderson.

Others honored were Benwood Police Department Cpl. Luke Thomas, New Cumberland Police Department Lt. Jeremy Krzys, Moundsville Police Department Sgt. Stgeve Kosek, Hancock County sheriff’s deputies Joseph Kauffman, Deszo Polgar and Brian Cunningham and Tyler County Deputy Shannon Huffman.

Outstanding Department Awards were given to the New Cumberland, Glen Dale and Moundsville police departments and to the Hancock and Tyler county sheriff’s departments.

Highway Safety Advocate Awards went to Straub Automotive, Charity Fato of Straub Automotive, Jody Miller of Wheeling Mothers Against Drunk Driving and Tom Miller of the Wheeling Neighborhood Assistance Volunteers.

West Viriginia Sen. Rocky Fitzsimmons, D-Ohio, and Mary McKinley, wife of U.S. Rep. David McKinley, R-W.Va., spoke at the gathering.