City and County Offices To Be Decided May 13; Voting Machines Receive Tests

Looking to ensure voting devices work properly before the May 13 primary election, Marshall County officials tested a pair of machines Tuesday during the County Commission meeting.

“We test every single machine,” County Clerk Jan Pest told Commissioners Don Mason and Bob Miller.

Though physically absent as he continues recovering from injury, Commissioner Brian Schambach was able to join Mason and Miller for the Tuesday meeting via speakerphone.

Mason decided against seeking re-election this year to the seat he has held since 1986.

With Mason’s term expiring near the same time Schambach plans to resign due to personal reasons, the county’s senior commissioner soon will be Miller, who took office following his narrow 2012 victory over former Commissioner Jason “Jake” Padlow.

Three Democrats – Mike Eskridge, former Delegate Scott Varner and former Moundsville Mayor Dennis “Denny” Wallace – are running to replace Mason, a Republican.

The lone Republican on the ballot is Moundsville resident Fred Brunner.

Pest said the winner of this race, following the fall general election, will take office Jan. 1. If Schambach decides to resign before Jan. 1, Mason and Miller will appoint his successor. If Schambach waits until after Jan. 1 to resign, Miller and the new commissioner will appoint his replacement.

Running for three seats on the Marshall County Board of Education are incumbents Roger Lewicki, Thomas Gilbert Jr. and Beth Phillips, along with challengers Thomas Stalnaker, Duane Miller, B. Beth Bertram, Chelsea Toth and Carl Boso.