Meet the Candidates Night Monday

Candidates for McMechen City Council, McMechen mayor, the Marshall County Board of Education, the Marshall County Commission and the House of Delegates are invited to participate in the annual McMechen Woman’s Club-Moundsville/Marshall County Public Library-sponsored meet the candidates event to be held at 6 p.m. Monday at the McMechen Volunteer Fire Department’s Fellowship Hall on Marshall Street.

In the event a candidate is not able to participate, a substitute or stand-in will be allowed to take part.

Each candidate will be given up to four minutes to discuss their qualifications for the office they are seeking. Time limits will be enforced by the moderator.

There will be no questions from the audience. However, there will be time to meet with the attendees after all the candidates have spoken. The candidates may place campaign literature on a designated table.

Voters in McMechen will be electing six council members, two from each of the three wards, and a mayor on May 13. County voters will be electing three members to the non-partisan Marshall County Board of Education. The May 13 primary election will be just that for those seeking the offices of Marshall County Commission and the state House of Delegates, as the winners will be determined during the November general election.

McMechen council candidates include Nancy Boreman, Aaron Kwiatkoski, Courtney Keller, Mike Mamula, Karen Phipps and Tim Smith in the 1st Ward; David Goddard, Beth Martin and John McCombs Jr. in the 2nd Ward; and Kevin Bratton, Alice Hill and Pat Wilson in the 3rd Ward. McMechen mayor candidates are Josephine Mackin and Gregg Wolfe.

The board of education candidates include Beth Bertram, Carl Boso, Thomas Gilbert, Roger Lewicki, Duane Miller, Beth Phillips, Thomas Stalnaker and Chelsea Toth.

For more information call the library at 304-845-6911.