CHS Commencement Planned for Friday

Cameron High School will graduate 45 students in the Class of 2014 in a commencement ceremony at 7 p.m. Friday in the school’s gym.

The class will honor valedictorian Alyssa Ebert, daughter of Ben and Renee Ebert of Cameron, in the ceremony. Ebert is the treasurer for the National Honor Society, vice-president of the Art Club and the reporter for the Class of 2014. She is member of Cameron’s Archery Club, Cameron High School Marching band, the Marshall County Livestock Club, the Marshall County 4-H Dog Obedience Group, Marshall County 4-H, Marshall County and Ohio County Dairy Club and Girl Scouts.

Ebert has received a Promise Scholarship, the Presidential Scholarship from West Liberty University and the Marshall County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship. She plans to attend West Liberty University in the fall, where she has been accepted into the Honors College. Ebert will major in biology and chemistry and plans to eventually apply to pharmacy or medical school.

The school will also honor salutatorian Jordyne Nicole Higginson, daughter of Jim and Debbie Higginson. Higginson has participated in various extracurricular activities including basketball, track, art club and is vice president of both the National Honor Society and Student Council. Higginson is a member of Temple Baptist Church where she volunteers weekly. Higginson has place first in Marshall County Young Writers, first place in the Marshall County Art Show and received the Consol Energy Award in the STEM category. Higginson plans to attend West Virginia University.

Receiving honors this year are graduates Eva Suarez, Natalie Trowbridge, Taylor Newman, Cheyenne Miller, Eileen Schwertfeger, Tiana Knowlton, F. Joseph Yoho and Breanna Tennant.

Also graduating are Timothy Allen, Alexis Aston, Jesse Aston, Katelin Bryan, Skylar Canas, Dylan Coulter, Nathaniel Cumberledge, Kayla Davis, Dakota Douglass, Heidi Dulaney, Jonathan Douglas Ellington, Stevin Evans, Courtney Gouldsberry, Zachary Hall, Shana Hogue, Kenneth Howard, James Keyser, Logen LeMasters, William Lohr, Jr., Joseph Lyons, Jonathan Matthews, Brady McCort, Kristen McDowell, Breagh Merinar, Christopher Messner, Logan Messner, Waylon Miller, Austin Pegg, Kenneth Perdue, Ariel Springer, Emily Titus, Tristen Weyrick, Shane Williams, Taylor Wise and Hunter Yoders.