Police Chief Re-Elected

New Martinsville resident Josh Balcerek will join Michael D. Blair and Robert Patterson as members of the Wetzel County Board of Education following the Tuesday primary election.

Also, New Martinsville Police Chief Tim Cecil retained his post by defeating challenger Michael Thomas, while challenger Jeremy Shepherd unseated Councilwoman Holly Grandstaff.

In the non-partisan board of education race, four New Martinsville residents competed for three positions on the board, as voters chose Balcerek, Blair and Patterson over Cindy Culley.

Unofficial results late Tuesday showed Blair with 1,457 votes; Balcerek with 1,330 votes; and Patterson with 1,295 votes. Culley, a write-in candidate, collected 77 votes.

Blair and Patterson will return to the board for their fourth terms. Newcomer Balcerek will join them, as he replaces member William D. Aberegg, who did not seek re-election.