Wolfe Named McMechen Mayor

McMechen City Councilman Gregg Wolfe will replace Michael Gracik as mayor after defeating Josephine “Jo Marie” Mackin on Tuesday in the 2014 municipal election.

Wolfe received 296 votes to Mackin’s 150.

Aaron Kwiatkoski won election to the 1st Ward of McMechen City Council, earning 28 votes. Unofficial votes Tuesday showed a tie between Mike Mamula and Karen Phipps for the second seat at 34 votes each. They will replace Councilwoman Nancy Boreman and Councilman Eric Thornton.

Replacing Wolfe and Jill Hawkins in the 2nd Ward seats are John A. McCombs Jr. and David Goddard, who earned 155 and 116 votes, respectively. Kevin J. Bratton and Pat Wilson will take over the 3rd Ward seats. Bratton received 58 votes and Wilson received 42 votes.

In Cameron, Julie Beresford will begin her second term as mayor of after running unopposed in the election. With few votes cast in Cameron, Mary M. Leichter will take over as the 1st Ward council representative, replacing incumbent councilman Rocky Guzek. Voters chose to reelect incumbent Jack L. Hart Sr. with 26 votes, as well as Councilwoman Helen McMasters with 35 votes.