Registered Child Abuser Is Arrested
Heather Nicole Carney is free on $1,000 bond after being arrested Monday for failure to update a change of address with the State Police Child Abuse Registry.
Carney, 26, of 302 Logan St., McMechen, reportedly moved from the home she at which she lived upon release from prison and took up residence with her boyfriend without notifying authorities.
Court documents show that on March 27, 2013, police charged Carney with child neglect creating substantial risk of injury.
Prosecutor Jeff Cramer said Carney pleaded guilty to that charge Dec. 3, and Circuit Judge Mark Karl sentenced her to one-to-five years in prison and ordered that she register as a child abuse offender.
She served six months of that sentence before being released on two years of supervised probation by Karl.
Cramer said the West Virginia Legislature enacted the Child Abuse and Neglect Registration on Oct. 1, 2006, and it became part of the Central Abuse Registry maintained by the state police. The CAR includes names of sex offenders and child abusers.
A criminal complaint filed Monday in Ohio County Magistrate Court states the State Police began investigating the case after a Robert’s Ridge resident in Marshall County asked that her address be removed from Carney’s file because Carney no longer lives at the home.
The woman said she took Carney into her home after her release from prison in April and Carney registered as a child abuser on April 8 with the Moundsville detachment of the State Police.
According to the report, the woman told troopers she caught Carney stealing from her in early July and threw her out of the house. Carney then moved in with her boyfriend at 22 Dorothy Ave. in the Elm Grove section of Wheeling.
The report states that further investigation revealed Wheeling police went to the boyfriend’s home Aug. 22 in regard to a domestic disturbance.
As of Aug. 25, Carney had not updated her change of address with the State Police’s Child Abuse Registry nor registered in Ohio County, as required by law, the report states.
State Code states that persons found guilty of failure to register or provide notice of registration changes may be sentenced to up to one year in jail and fined up to $10,000 or both.