Weaver Named to WVU Foundation Board

The West Virginia University Foundation board elected five new directors at its annual meeting held earlier this month.

  • George S. Weaver III of Lancaster, Pa., who earned his bachelor’s degree in agriculture/resource management from WVU, graduating magna cum laude in 1979.

He is chairman of the board of Wheeling-headquartered HB&W Inc., which is the financial services firm that owns Hazlett, Burt & Watson Inc. and Security National Trust. Weaver, a Wheeling native, currently serves on the visiting committee for the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design. He is the son of George and Shirley Weaver of Wheeling.

  • Dr. Vicente “Vince” Anido Jr. of Corona Del Mar, Calif., who graduated from WVU with a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy in 1975 and a master’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences with a focus on pharmacy administration in 1978.

He is currently chairman and CEO of Aerie Pharmaceuticals Inc.

  • Kaye C. Daniel of Pittsburgh, who earned her master’s degree in 1984 from WVU’s Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design. She is former president of Sportec Inc. and former project coordinator for Development Dimensions International.
  • Alison Deem of Bridgeport, W.Va., who graduated from WVU’s College of Education and Human Services in 1970. Deem has been very active at her alma mater, serving on numerous committees. In 2012, she was inducted into WVU’s Order of Vandalia.
  • Penelope “Penni” F. Roll of New York, who graduated magna cum laude earning her BSBA degree in accounting from WVU in 1988. She is currently the chief financial officer of Ares Capital.

Gary R. Pell of Myrtle Beach, S.C., was elected board chairman. Benjamin M. Statler of Naples, Fla., was elected vice chair. Re-elected secretary was Marcia A. Broughton of Clarksburg. Joan Corson Stamp of Wheeling will serve a one-year term as assistant secretary.

Directors re-elected to three-year terms are W. Marston (Marty) Becker; Dr. Patrice A. Harris; E.G. “Ken” Kendrick Jr.; Pamela Maphis Larrick; Robert O. (Bob) Orders Jr.; and Fred T. Tattersall. Stamp was re-elected to a one-year term.