Ohio County Commission Reappoints Local Officials

Ohio County commissioners started the new year by reappointing or confirming a slate of officials to their current posts.

During their first meeting of 2018, commissioners affirmed all 13 members serving on the Ohio County Development Authority. All members serve three-year terms.

Those whose terms expire on July 20, 2019, are former Wheeling Mayor Andy McKenzie, Tom Cerra, John Lucas, John McCullough, county Administrator Greg Stewart and and Nancy Weeks. Four other members have terms that expire on July 20, 2020 — Commissioner Orphy Klempa, Randy Russell and Jim Murray.

The remaining three members have terms that expires on July 20 of this year. Among them are Commissioner Randy Wharton, who serves as president of the authority; Commissioner Tim McCormick; and Raymond Helbling.

Commissioners reappointed Stewart as county administrator and voted to retain Don Tennant and Doug McCroskey as solicitor and dog warden, respectively.

Klempa will continue to serve as commission president, while McCormick was tapped again to be vice-president.

Stewart reminded Ohio County residents wishing to run for office that filing season begins Monday and concludes Jan. 27. The commission office will be open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. each weekday to facilitate filings, and will also be open from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Jan. 27, a Saturday.

Joelle Connors, manager of external affairs for American Electric Power, addressed commissioners, telling them if needs occur in Ohio County during the cold of winter, AEP services will be available to them.

“Winter is here, and so are we,” she said.