Mullholland Center Staff Graduates From Academy

The Division of Juvenile Services, part of the West Virginia Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety held its 66th Basic Academy graduation last week at the McLure Hotel Ballroom in Wheeling.

The Basic Academy training is required for all staff who work in juvenile detention and corrections facility. The month-long training was held in Wheeling to train staff at Youth Services System’s Ronald C. Mulholland Juvenile Center–the state’s only private non-profit juvenile facility.

The Academy graduated 10 Mulholland Center staff: Lynette Banks, Rosa Brown, Amanda Evans, Kate Grimes, Robert Knight, Aimee McQuillian, Nicholas Naumann, Lisa Ruckh, Katina Shreffler and John Wilson. The Assistant Training Director, Scott Deusenberry, coordinated this training along with Dom Avena, Denise Richards, who served as class adviser, and Olivia Woody. An additional group of training instructors came to Wheeling to make the academy available locally rather than at Cedar Lakes in Ripley, the statewide DJS training site.

The DJS Honor Guard did a presentation of the Colors after the 66th Basic Class marched in with their Class Guidon. Deusenberry welcomed those attending and introduced the speakers. DJS Division Director William K. Marshall III addressed the gathering.

“In your work, you can change the lives of the youth in your care,” Marshall said.

Linda Scott, the Ronald C. Mulholland Juvenile Center facilities director, expressed her confidence in the graduates. John Moses, Youth Services System chief executive officer gave the keynote address. Kate Grimes spoke as representative of the 66th Basic Academy Class.

Graduates were administered the Correctional Officer Oath by Dom Avena.

The Mulholland Juvenile Center, named after Youth Services System founding director, Ron Mulholland, has served youth and their families in the northern panhandle since 1985 as a detention center for youth accused of a serious offense. The Ronald C. Mulholland Juvenile Center also serves young women committed to state care.