Three Seek Mayor’s Post in Village of Bethlehem

A former mayor, the former recorder and a current councilman all want to be the next mayor of Bethlehem.

The ballot for the city’s municipal election on June 11 is now set, with contested elections taking place for mayor, recorder and 2nd Ward council.

Former Mayor Garrett Daniel has filed for his old job, and joining him in the race for mayor are former recorder Don Junkins and present 3rd Ward Councilman Charles “Chuck” Griffin.

Current Mayor Tim Bishop announced last month he would not be seeking re-election this year.

There is a contested race for recorder, where incumbent Stephen Gulajski seeks a challenge from Matthew Saseen.

In the 2nd Ward, Councilwoman Judith Kirker faces a rematch against former Councilman Kent Pascioli, whom she defeated in 2017.

While Bethlehem’s elected officials typically serve a two-year term, those winning the upcoming election will have an abbreviated term of just one year. This is because starting next year, the village changes its election schedule to coincide with county, state and federal elections on even number years.

The move will bring the cost of each elections in Bethlehem down from $7,500 to about $1,200, according to Bishop.

Other races on Bethlehem’s municipal ballot will go unchallenged on June 11.

Only one candidate, Guy Rayl, filed to run for the 3rd Ward seat currently occupied by Griffin.

Incumbents in the 1st Ward, Robert Henry; 4th Ward, Stephen Harasuik; 5th Ward, Mark Sasseen; 6th Ward, Thomas Auten; and 7th Ward, Stanley Wojcik all are running unopposed for re-election.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)