Election Filing Ends

WHEELING – Eight candidates filed to run for Wheeling’s 2nd Ward council seat prior to Saturday’s deadline, while at least 10 candidates will seek a full term as Brooke County commissioner in 2012.

Prospective candidates had until midnight Saturday to file for the May 8 primary election in West Virginia, and more candidates could be joining local races.

Filings mailed by candidates still will be accepted providing they were notorized and postmarked by Saturday’s deadline.

On Saturday, Ken Imer and Desmond Lekanudos joined the race for council in Wheeling’s 2nd Ward, where longtime incumbent Vernon Seals announced he won’t seek re-election.

Other candidates for the 2nd Ward seat are Charles Ballouz, James Burress, Alex Coogan, Tony Domenick, Steven McKenzie and Aaron T. Wilkinson.

Jerome Poynton – an East Wheeling property owner involved the recent court case against the city of Wheeling and its plans to build a sports field in East Wheeling – filed to run for mayor of Wheeling on Saturday. He will challenge incumbent Mayor Andy McKenzie.

Other races in the city of Wheeling appeared as follows as of Saturday evening:

– In the 1st Ward, current councilwoman Gloria Delbrugge faces opposition from John Bishop.

– Incumbent Councilman Robert “Herk” Henry faces four opponents in the 3rd Ward. He is being challenged by Christopher Dean, Duane Ellis, Chris Hamm and Ted Edwin Maxwell.

– Current Councilman James Tiu is not running for re-election this year in the 4th Ward. Those filing for his seat include Keith Bell, Randy Berisford, Mark Garrett, Marjorie Klemm and David C. Miller.

– In the 5th Ward, incumbent Councilman Don Atkinson is being challenged by Lloyd Adams, Robert Boord and Perry Napier.

– No candidate filed to run in the 6th Ward against incumbent Councilman Gene Fahey, who also serves as vice-mayor.

In Brooke County, incumbent Commissioner Marty Bartz was among those filing Saturday to a full-term as commissioner representing the Follansbee District. He will face nine Democrat challengers. Among them are James Andreozzi, John Bertram, John Casinelli, Leonard E. Dewitt, Roy Givens, Burton K. Jennings II, Richard McCullough, Janice McFadden and Steve Tennant.

A second race for commissioner in Brooke County this year is for an unexpired term representing the Wellsburg District. Former Delegate Tim Ennis, D-Brooke, was appointed to the seat earlier this month, and he will face opposition from current Sheriff Richard Ferguson in the Democratic primary.

Democrat Calvin Heck of Follansbee on Saturday withdrew his filing to run for the House of Delegates, and then joined the race for Brooke County magistrate. Two magistrates will be elected from among six Democrats – Cathy Dillon, Heck, George Lewis , Robin Snyder, Karen Stuck and Linda (Roberts) Viderman.

Wayne Mielke filed as a Democrat for the Brooke County prosecutor’s job, and will face Joseph Barki III in the primary election. Incumbent Prosecutor David Cross will not seek re-election in 2012.

There also were filings for the Brooke County Board of Education on Saturday. Two candidates are to be elected in that race. William Schwertfeger and Daniel McCauley joined a race that also includes Brian Ferguson and James Piccirillo.

Other local counties reported no new filings on Saturday.

Candidate lists should be finalized by mid-week as election officials await filings mailed to their offices.