Jefferson Voters Also Nix Trio of School Issues

STEUBENVILLE – Three school levies in Jefferson and Harrison counties failed to pass Tuesday.

Voters in the Buckeye Local School District, which includes sections of Jefferson, Belmont and Harrison counties, were asked to approve an additional 2.1 mills for five years to be used for emergency requirements. Voters in that district voted down the levy, registering 1,506 “no” votes to 818 votes in favor of the levy, according to unofficial totals released Tuesday.

An additional 1-mill levy for seven years proposed to voters in those same counties for the Jefferson County Joint Vocational School District also failed, losing 4,749 to 4,106. The funds would have been used for current expenses, purchasing equipment and buildings and improving existing buildings.

In the Indian Creek Local School District, 2,464 voters cast “no” votes for the proposed levy, which was a 3.5-mill bond issue for 37 years. The money would have gone toward constructing new school facilities, renovating, improving and constructing additions to existing facilities, furnishing and equipping school facilities, improving school properties and acquiring additional land. A total of 1,502 voted for the levy.

Other issues were also on the ballot Tuesday, including the Democratic primary election for Steubenville City Council. Because no Republicans filed to run in either the primary or general election, Michael R. Johnson will represent the 2nd Ward after defeating Lori A. Mason by a 124-80 vote margin. In the 6th Ward, Bob Villamagna received 422 votes, while challengers Robert M. Chapman and Daniel Thorne Jr. received 187 and 21 votes, respectively.

Villamagna said he was “very happy and anxious to get started helping the city.”

“The ward race was a very clean campaign, and I commend Bob Chapman and Danny Thorne for running for office,” he said.

Johnson thanked his family and friends, “including my brother and sister for going house to house during the campaign.”

“I will continue attending council meetings to learn as much as I can about the issues facing the city,” he said.

The winning candidates will take office Jan. 1.