Wheeling Central Catholic Graduates 53

WHEELING – Members of Central Catholic High School’s Class of 2013 had much to celebrate during commencement exercises held Saturday at Oglebay’s outdoor amphitheater, a long-held school tradition.

School officials announced that of the 53 seniors in the Class of 2013, 75 percent of them have been awarded full or partial scholarships to college. In addition, 21 students out of 45 total West Virginia residents are confirmed recipients of the state’s Promise Scholarship.

The total dollar amount awarded to the graduates are a one-year amount of $700,000 and a four-year amount of $2.2 million.

Beth Stayduhar served as the valedictorian and winner of scholastic honors math and English. Vincent O’Leary was selected the 2013 salutatorian.

Town & Country Animal Hospital veterinarian Dr. Amanda Schmid Castle, CCHS Class of 2000, offered words of praise and encouragement as commencement speaker.

Among the top awards presented was the Mater Dei Award earned by Brian Felton.

Scholastic Honors awards included Justin Hammers, Religion; Brian Felton, Science; Marissa McFadden, Social Studies; Katelyn Hurley, French; Colleen McCormick, Spanish; and Emily Gordon, Art.

The Coach J.T. Thomas Memorial Scholarship for outstanding leadership, scholarship, character and service on and off the playing field went to Michael Pleva.

The “Skip” Prosser ABC Award for demonstrating the values that Coach Prosser lived and taught in the classroom and on the basketball court went to Justin Hammers.

School Spirit Awards, sponsored by Main Street Bank, were presented to Chance Siebieda and Colleen McCormick.

The Terry Hawkins Sportsmanship Awards went to Beth Stayduhar and John McFarland.

The Dr. Frank L. Carenbauer Award for Excellence in Science and the Bertrand H. Jones and Rosemarie E. Jones Award in computer science were given to Vincent O’Leary.

London Koffler took home the Father Robert V. Arkle Memorial Award in English Literature.

The CCHS Class of 1969 Award for Most Improved in Social Studies award was given to Mary Stahl.