Miley Announces Leadership Team

CHARLESTON — Following through with his vow to continue the successful momentum of the House of Delegates leadership team during the past seven years, House Speaker Tim Miley is making minimal changes to his leadership team for the remainder of this legislative term.

“My primary goal is maintaining stability and building upon the successes of the past House administration,” Miley said. “In making these appointments, I also took into consideration talent, ideology and geographic balance.

“I think we have a great team and look forward to continue working together to create more opportunities for economic success in West Virginia.”

The following is the leadership structure:

— Majority Leader: Harry Keith White of Mingo County

— Majority Whip: Mike Caputo of Marion County

— Speaker Pro Tem: Randy Swartzmiller of Hancock County

— Finance Chair: Brent Boggs of Braxton County

— Judiciary Chair: Tim Manchin of Marion County

— Education Chair: Mary Poling of Barbour County

— Government Organization Chair: Jim Morgan of Cabell County

— Health Chair: Don Perdue of Wayne County

— Finance Vice Chair: Doug Reynolds of Cabell County

— Judiciary Vice Chair: Mark Hunt of Kanawha County

— Education Vice Chair: David Perry of Fayette County

— Government Organization Vice Chair: Dale Stephens of Cabell County

— Health Vice Chair: Barbara Fleischauer of Monongalia County

“This is virtually the same leadership team that overhauled the Ethics Act to provide greater accountability and transparency for elected officials; the same one that passed significant mine safety legislation to protect our miners while also providing the clarification and consistency for mining companies on chemical discharge limits that was sorely missing from the federal EPA,” Miley said.

“This is predominantly the same leadership team that worked with Governors Manchin and Tomblin to eliminate the food tax, helping individuals save their hard-earned money while at the same time reducing the corporate net income and business franchise taxes to help companies succeed in West Virginia.”