Petroplus Has Seat On Bank Board

WHEELING – First West Virginia Bancorp’s Board of Directors on Monday announced the appointment of William G. Petroplus as interim president and CEO.

Petroplus takes over for the late Sylvan J. Dlesk, who died last week. Dlesk served as First West Virginia Bancorp’s president, CEO and board chairman.

Petroplus has served on First West Virginia’s board since 1998 and currently is serving as chairman of the nominating committee. He also serves as a director of Progressive Bank, N.A., a wholly owned subsidiary of First West Virginia.

“We are deeply saddened by the sudden loss of Mr. Dlesk,” Petroplus said. “Mr. Dlesk has been a close personal friend of mine in excess of 39 years. During (his) tenure at the bank, he established an excellent management team to solidify the bank for the future. The bank directors and employees express our deep gratitude to Mr. Dlesk for his long-term service and commitment to our company and to Progressive Bank N.A., and we express our sympathies to his family. He will be sorely missed.”

The board also appointed R. Clark Morton to succeed Dlesk as board chairman. Morton has served on the company’s board since 1965. He also currently serves as chairman of Progressive Bank.

The board has formed a search committee to find a permanent president and CEO for First West Virginia and also a president, CEO and senior loan officer of Progressive Bank. Committee members are Petroplus, Morton, Laura G. Inman, Thomas L. Sable and Clyde Campbell.