Early Voting Begins Around W.Va.

WHEELNG- Marilyn Mendelson of Wheeling was one of the first voters to cast a ballot this morning for the May 13 West Virginia primary election during the first day of early voting at the City-County Building in Wheeling.

“I will be unable to vote on Election Day but I feel strongly that everybody should vote,” she said. “I wanted to put my voice in.”

Pollworker Polly Karr said 14 voters cast ballots during the first hour after the poll opened.

“I think the Ohio County Board of Education race will bring out a lot of voters,” she said.

The times for voting, now through May 10, are as follows:

Brooke County – early voting hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day except Sunday;

Hancock County – voters can cast ballots between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. each weekday;

Marshall County – hours for voting are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday;

Ohio County – voting hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day except Sunday; and

Wetzel County – voting hours are 9 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Wednesday and on Friday. The polls close 30 minutes earlier at 4 p.m. on Thursdays.

In Tyler County, early voting hours have changed for this election, as the county clerk’s office will be open extended hours. Residents will be able to cast ballots between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. at the courthouse today and Thursday, and again May 5-8.

The office also will be open for voting from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. on Friday, and during the same hours again on May 9.

Polls in all Mountain State counties also will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, and on the last day for voting, May 10. All county clerks offices are closed on Sundays.

In Ohio, primary election day is May 6. Early absentee voting at the county election board offices already underway in the Buckeye State.

Voters in the Ohio County primary will be asked to select two for the 3rd District seats in the West Virginia House of Delegates. Voters also will select three Ohio County Board of Education members from among seven candidates. Also up for a vote is the Ohio Valley Regional Transportation Authority bus levy and a school levy renewal.

Statewide, there are contested races for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va. Three Republicans are seeking the nomination – U.S. Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, Larry Butcher and Matthew Dodrill. Three Democrats – Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, David Wamsley and Dennis Melton – face off for that party’s nomination.

In Ohio, there is a contested Democrat primary for the 6th Congressional District seat currently held by U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson, R-Ohio. The top vote-getter between Jennifer Garrison and Greg Howard will advance to the November general election to face Johnson for the seat.

Joselyn King contributed to this story.