Six Wheeling Park Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

Will now compete to be one of 7,500 Merit Scholars nationwide

Six Wheeling Park High School seniors are among more than 70 statewide and 16,000 across the nation named today as semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship program.

The Wheeling Park students, who are the only Northern Panhandle representatives listed as semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., are:

Abigail Delk;

Sarah Ihlenfeld;

Katherine Leary;

Mary Prather;

Paushaly Sau;

and Fiona Zhang.

Morgantown High School led West Virginia with 12 semifinalists, followed by George Washington High School with nine and University High School, six.

No local Ohio students made the semifinalist list.

The semifinalists now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2018.

Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 230 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor’s employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. In addition, about 190 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.