Knowing W.Va. History, Culture

West Virginians who at young ages take an intense interest in our state often grow up to become leaders making the Mountain State an even better place to live and raise children.

That was one reason why the Golden Horseshoe program was established in 1931. It tests knowledge of West Virginia history and culture among eighth graders, recognizing young people from each county. No other state has had a similar program for as long.

Winning the Golden Horseshoe award is hard. Those who do so truly are outstanding young people.

This year’s Golden Horseshoe winners have been announced. In our area, they are:

Brooke County – Jacob Huntzinger, Ethan Secrist and Mikayla Wood.

Hancock County – Sean Gray, Morgan Hicks, Alessia Richmond and Jonathan Wynn.

Marshall County – Cole Quigley, Justin Schrack, Trey Scott and Wyatt Setterstrom.

Ohio County – Nathan Blair, Hannah Burgess, Allison Holmstrand and Jack Stryker.

Tyler County – Colby Buchanan, Rosana Smith and Theodore Stackpole.

Wetzel County – Garret Babe, Peyton Bassett and Mackenzie Drake.

Congratulations to them all – and to their parents and teachers.