Organization Being Disbanded

A Marshall County agency has been dissolved!

The board of directors of the Marshall County Society for Disabled Children and Adults voted to dissolve the organization at a recent meeting.

The original name was the Marshall County Easter Seals; it would latter become known as the Marshall County Society for Crippled Children and Adults, and latter the word “Disabled” replaced the word “Crippled.”

The organization was started more than 50 years ago with a five-member board consisting of Noel Lancaster, Robert Jerguson, R. Dale Stultz, Dorothy Knapp and J.K. Chase Jr.

Stultz and Joe Neubauer, also one of the early board members, both became presidents of the state Easter Seal Society.

In accordance with a requirement of its incorporation documents, all assets of the organization have been distributed to either other duly identified 501(c)3 non-profit organizations located in Marshall County, or specifically serving Marshall County.

Included in the dissolution process was the voting by the board members to give money to 14 Marshall County agencies to help in their endeavor to provide health-related services. Among those receiving this funding were two projects which are involved in keeping history alive, and in turn also to bring tourism to the county. They are the Strand Theatre and the Cockayne Farmstead; the money to be used to make these facilities handicap accessible.

The remaining money which the organization had in its treasury will be administered by the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley, and will be distributed on a need basis to Marshall County residents.

Four individuals have agreed to serve on a board which will review applications from Marshall County residents seeking assistance in the future, and the board will make recommendations on who receives money, and the amounts. Checks will then be written by the CFOV. These board members include Becky McGuire, Becky Cox, Diane Magers and Goldie Wayt. A fifth member of the board has yet to be announced.

Don Haskins, who served for some three decades as president of the MCSDCA, made the dissolution public while speaking to the Moundsville Lions Club this past Tuesday. The club was one of the 14 agencies receiving funding to assist with its program eye examinations and eye glasses for the needy.

Haskins explained that the board decided for several reasons to transfer the money to CFOV, which currently manages some 180 funds with assets in the $27 million range.

Treasurer Jim Stultz said a factor in deciding on dissolving the organization was that board members were in agreement that because of federal and state restrictions, they believed that the money should be administered by a foundation which deals with dispensing charitable funds. The CFOV was established in 1972. It was noted that application forms for monetary assistance will be available at the Marshall County Health Department, and the three public libraries in the county which are located in Moundsville, Cameron and Benwood-McMechen, along with from school personnel involved in the area of special education.

Haskins stated the organization has purchased over the years wheel chairs, and have been available through the county health department. He said the health department will continue to lend the wheel chairs.

Also, Haskins noted the organization has contributed toward handicapped entrance ramps throughout the county.

Over the years, the Marshall County agency has also distributed scholarship money to college individuals enrolled in health-related fields, along with those who are students in the Reynolds Memorial Hospital Licensed Practical Nurse course.

As to the CFOV, Executive Director Susie Nelson said the foundation is currently serving Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel and Tyler Counties in West Virginia, and Belmont and Jefferson Counties in Ohio.

“The foundation is a collection of charitable funds, each one different. The CFOV offers donor-advised funds, scholarship funds, agency endowment funds, and donor ddesignated.” Nelson said. “Last year we made more than $1 million in grants and scholarships into the communities.”

She further stated that CFOV is a non-profit organization.

“Our business is to be of service to donors and to the wider community in philanthropic endeavors,” she said. “Our mission is to build a permanent endowment to meet the changing needs of the Upper Ohio Valley. There are nearly 800 community foundations across the country, each representing a specific geographic area.

“The CFOV has a board of local, unpaid volunteers. Their role is to provide governance and oversight of foundation activities. Each fund has its own purpose, some very specific and others very broad. Often community foundations are able to go above and beyond the standard grantmaking of their individual funds and be a catalyst for change in the community.”

Open House at the new Cameron High/Middle School will be held from 1:30-4:30 p.m. today, with the public invited to attend.

There will be buses from Moundsville, the first of which will leave at 1 p.m. from the John Marshall Fieldhouse. Others will leave at 2 p.m.

A Neighborhood Association meeting of all interested Moundsville residents will be held from 6-7:30 p.m. Wednesday at the FRN Training Center, 1501 Second St.

The purpose of the meeting will be to discuss neighborhood beautification, build community connections, improve communications between residents and city council, and discuss potential community projects. Also, the comprehensive development plan will be on the agenda.

For information, contact Councilman Dave Wood at 304-650-6611 or event organizer Tyler Poliquin of the Marshall County FRN at 304-845-3300.

The annual John Marshall High School Queen of Queens Pageant will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday in the schools’s Center for the Performing Arts, with 10 senior girls competing.

The winner will represent the school in the OVAC Queen of Queens Pageant in July.

The contestants are Alexia Beatty, Katelyn Beegle, Karissa Duke, Brienna Gray, Hillary Kinney, Iesha Kotson, Savannah McCartney, Kassie Riggs, Rosemary Targosky and Victoria Younger.