Municipal, County Elections Slated

Beginning Monday and continuing through the next two weeks, those wishing to seek city offices in Benwood, Cameron, Glen Dale and McMechen must file their candidacy with the city clerk in their respective municipalities.

Candidates for Marshall County Board of Education or the County Commission position are to file in the county clerk’s office, while candidates for the House of Delegates and state Senate are to file in the Secretary of State’s office.

In the four Marshall County municipalities,15 council terms expire on June 30, along with three mayor positions -Cameron, Glen Dale and McMechen. Also, in Benwood voters will elect a police chief, and in Glen Dale the office of recorder will be on the ballot.

All four cities will be holding their elections on May 13, in conjunction with the primary election.

Legal notices state that individuals in the four cities filing in person for any of the local offices must do so by the closing of office hours on Jan. 24. Offices in Benwood, Cameron and McMechen close at 5 p.m., while in Glen Dale it is 4 p.m. Any applications mailed must be post marked by midnight on Jan. 25.

The law requires that the form or certificate be notarized.

There are filing fees of $75 for the position of mayor in the cities of Benwood, Cameron and McMechen, while to seek a council seat in those cities the filing fee is $35.

The filing fee in Glen Dale for all city offices is $25, and in addition, candidates must obtain the signatures of 25 registered city voters.

In Benwood, the police chief and council members will be elected for four-year terms. This year voters in Benwood will be electing four council members, one from each ward. These seats are currently held by Curt Mele, first ward; Larry Ferrera III, second ward; Walter Yates, third ward; and Bob Rose, fourth ward. Four individuals on Benwood’s eight-member council have two years remaining of their terms. They are Chuck Terry, John Kazerma, Lori Longwell and Carl Richter.

For inquires about the Benwood city election, contact city Clerk/Treasurer Judy Hunt at 304-232-4320.

In the city of Cameron, the term of the mayor is two years, while voters will be electing three individuals to council, one from each ward, for four-year terms. Current council members whose terms expire on June 30 are Ron Walker, first ward; Jack Hart Sr., second ward; and Helen McMasters, third ward; along with the office of Mayor Julie Beresford. Three members of council, Rocky Guzek, Tom Hart and Wayne Simmons, have two years remaining on their terms.

For inquires concerning the Cameron election, contact city Clerk/Treasurer Sheila Cottrell at 304-686-2366.

The city of Glen Dale will be electing a mayor and recorder, both for two-year terms, and two members to council for four-year terms. The terms of council members Elliott Grisell and Lou Richmond expire on June 30, along with the office of recorder, held by Gerald Trembush, and that of the mayor, David Blazer. Holdover council members are Larry English, Wayne Bero and John Zinn.

For additional information concerning the Glen Dale election contact city Clerk Jane Criswell-Rickman at 304-845-5511.

All six council terms in the city of McMechen will also expire on June 30, thus two individuals will be elected from each of three wards. The council seats, along with the mayor, are all four-year terms.

The current elected city officials are Mike Gracik, mayor; Nancy Boreman and Eric Thorton, first ward council members; Jill Hawkins and Gregg Wolfe, second ward council members; and Alice Hill and Pat Wilson, third wall council members.

For inquiries call city Clerk Suzanne DeBolt at 304-232-3140.

On the county level, voters will elect three people to the non-partisan Marshall County Board of Education in May, as the terms of Thomas Gilbert Jr., Roger Lewicki and Beth Phillips expire on June 30. Those elected will assume their duties on July 1.

Holdover members of the BOE are Lori Kestner and John Miller.

Another county position is that of county commissioner from the Second Magisterial District, which encompasses all the city of Moundsville precincts, Precinct No. 18 (Maxwell Acres Community Building) and Precinct No. 43 (Ebenezer Methodist Church on Roberts Ridge).

The Democrat and Republican winners in the primary will square off in the general election for the position currently held by Don Mason, who has announced that he will not be a candidate.

The Moundsville Lions Club/First Presbyterian Church will sponsor their annual blood drive from 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. on Friday at the church, Third Street and Washington Avenue.

The public is invited to donate blood, the goal being 30 units.

While a person may expect to be at the blood drive for a little more than an hour, the actual blood donation takes less than 15 minutes.

At the registration, donors need to know their Social Security number and have a photo ID or two forms of other positive identification. A trained staff member will give the person a brief health check; ask some questions about the person’s medical history; check the person’s blood pressure, temperature and pulse; and measure the person’s blood hemoglobin level. Hemoglobin is the protein in a person’s blood that contains iron.

Refreshments will be given the donors to replenish their fluids.

To schedule an appointment for the Jan. 17 blood drive call 1-800-RED CROSS (1-800-733-2767) or online

The annual “Library Day” at the West Virginia Legislature will be held Jan. 23, sponsored by the West Virginia Library Association. A reception will be held from 5-7 p.m. in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston, to honor members of the 81st Legislature.

The Marshall County Public Library will provide a bus to the event and for tickets for the reception and transportation information those planning to attend are to call the Moundsville Public Library at 304-845-6911.

County library director Susan Reilly encourages the attendance of as many librarians, trustees, and friends as possible to help demonstrate to the legislators the local community support that exists for the three Marshall County public libraries.

“We would be honored to have you join us,” Reilly said.

Those wishing to purchase a gold plaque in time for the Bishop Donahue High School “Wall of Support” dedication must place their orders by Jan. 20

The Most Reverend Bishop Michael J. Bransfield, bishop of the Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston, will dedicate and bless the Wall at 1 p.m. on Jan. 31 at BDHS.

A reception will be held following the dedication for those who have purchased gold plaques.

Information is available on the school’s website,, or by calling the school at 304-233-3850 and ask for Donna Krupica, the school’s advancement director.

The Moundsville Baseball Association will hold sign-ups for all ages groups starting Jan. 24. Other dates are Jan. 31, Feb. 1, Feb 7-8. The signups from 6-8 p.m. will take place at McDonalds in Moundsville. There will be a charge of $20 for a first child and $10 for each additional child in a family.