Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Ferro, Sidiropolis Win in 4th District

May 9, 2012
By JOSELYN KING - Political Writer , The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

Voters chose incumbent Delegate Mike Ferro and office manager David Sidiropolis Tuesday as the Democrat Party's nominees to represent the 4th District in the West Virginia House of Delegates.

Ferro, D-Marshall, a resident of McMechen, received the most votes in the race, where two nominees were to be selected. Ferro received 3,228 votes.

Sidiropolis, also of McMechen, came in second with 2,464 votes, followed by Keith Hughes of Cameron with 1,656 votes and R.J. Smith of Dallas, 384.

In the Nov. 6 general election, Ferro and Sidiropolis will face Republican candidate David Evans of Cameron, who ran unopposed Tuesday. Voters will elect two delegates from among the three.

"I would like to thank my family, friends and folks in Marshall County who have reaffirmed their faith in me as an incumbent," Ferro said. "It's gratifying to think a lot people think I'm doing a good job in Charleston, and I want to continue that."

It was a first-time run for public office for Sidiropolis.

"I would like to thank the Marshall County voters, and congratulate my opponents on a good campaign," he said. "We're looking forward to November.

"I'm truly humbled by this opportunity."

Incumbent Delegate Scott Varner, D-Marshall, did not seek re-election this year.

Ferro and Evans are both retired teachers from Marshall County Schools, while Sidiropolis serves as office manager for the Sidiropolis Law Office in Marshall County.

Two delegates also will be elected this year in the 1st District, where incumbent delegates Randy Swartzmiller and Ronnie Jones, both D-Hancock, won Democratic nominations for re-election, besting challenger Marilyn Boyd. Swartzmiller received 3,850 votes; Jones, 2,422; and Boyd, 2,223.

Swartzmiller and Jones will face Republicans Justin Bull and Carl Thompson in the general election, and voters will select two delegates from among the four.

"The biggest thing I can say is a big thank you," Swartzmiller said. "The numbers we got ... everyone who supported me after 12 years in office ... I'm very humbled by it.

"My plan will be what it always will be - to put the people first, and be the people's voice in Charleston."

Jones noted how close the contest was. He and Boyd tied with 1,880 votes apiece in Hancock County, but Jones received 199 more votes than Boyd in Brooke County communities within the 1st District.

"I would like to thank the voters," Jones said. "I was surprised how close the vote was. I will work twice as hard in the general election.

"I think Randy and I work well together, and want to continue to work with Randy."

Another contested Democratic primary took place in the 6th District, where Charles Delauder of Middlebourne, a former president of the West Virginia Education Association, defeated Karl Paul of Wick. Delauder received 530 votes, and Paul, 281.

Delauder will face incumbent Delegate Roger Romine, R-Tyler, in the general election, and just one delegate will be elected in the 6th District. Delauder could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.

Delegate Phillip Diserio, D-Brooke, and Republican Lynn Davis ran unopposed for their party's nominations to one 2nd District seat to be elected in 2012.

In the 3rd District, Republican and Democratic candidates also ran unopposed for nomination to two seats on the ballot this year. Delegate Ryan Ferns, D-Ohio, withdrew from the race last month, but still received 2,111 votes in Tuesday's election. Fellow Democrat Shawn Fluharty captured 2,931 votes.

Democrats are expected to appoint a candidate to replace Ferns on the ballot, and that candidate and Fluharty will face incumbent Delegate Erikka Storch, R-Ohio, and Republican Larry Tighe in the November general election.

I am looking for: