Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Wrestling: Doan Ford-Barnesville Invitational

December 15, 2012
The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

BARNESVILLE - The Doan Ford-Barnesville Invitational wrestling tournament could be called the Claymont Invite.

The Mustangs rang up 307.5 points to easily outdistance the 18-team field in the 43rd annual event.

Locally, a pair of grapplers stood atop the podium after securing victories in their weight divisions. They were Beallsville's Bruce Sefert (152) and St. Clairsville's Dalton Nolte (160).

Nolte, who was on St. Clairsville's state runnerup football team, didn't have nearly as much trouble as he pinned his way to the title.

The top-seed put Caldwell's Caleb VanMeter to his back in 4:59.

Four other local wrestlers finished runnerup, those being Martins Ferry's duo of Theo Zoumpoulidis (106) and Jonathan Bodkin (285); Monroe Central's Rodney Richter (113); and River's J.D. Dotson (220). Zoumpoulidis was pinned in a mere 33 seconds by Claymont freshman Tyler Warner.

Warner's younger brother D.J. made quick work of Richter in 1:56. Bodkin suffered a 3-1 setback to Tuscarawas Valley's Joe Newsome, while Dotson was a 4-2 loser to Claymont's Garrett Harding.

A total of 14 other local individuals placed either third or fourth in their weight classifications.

St. Clairsville, which placed fourth overall with 94 points, had four other placewinners in addition to Nolte. Justin Callarik (138) and Corey Ernest (285) were both third, while Seth Benge (182) and Michael Furbee (220) finished fourth.

Martins Ferry, which was right behind the Red Devils with 90 points for fifth place, also had a handful of placewinners. Damon Outward (132) and Zac Coole (220) were third, and Bryce Coleman (145) was fourth.

Bridgeport's Brad Tomolonis (171) placed third. Taking fourth-place finishes were Barnesville's Hobie Howiler (126) and Taylor Griffen (138); Beallsville's Preston Biers (195); Union Local's Tanner Strain (103) and Zac Sowers (132); and Monroe Central's Zac Potts (152).

Cody Burcher, a two-time state runnerup for the Mustangs, was voted the event's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Also winning individual crowns were Meadowbrook's Jerad Patterson (120) and Sandy Valley's Sam Groff (195).

I am looking for: