Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Kalkreuth Classic Set For Weekend

Golf tournament does much for community

June 6, 2013
By TONY VIOLA, Staff Writer , The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

WHEELING - The longest-running amateur golf tournament in the Ohio Valley is back for a 68th year as the Kalkreuth Roofing Amateur Golf Classic is set to take over Oglebay's Crispin Course - its home for each of those years during the first full weekend in June - on Saturday and Sunday.

The tournament, run by Kalkreuth Roofing and Sheet Metal of Wheeling sales manager Dan Tennant, was long known as the Bernhardt's (45 years) before being taken over by Welty Buick in 2000. That car dealership ended its sponsorship in 2006, leaving the Oglebay Park Men's Golf Club scrambling for a new title sponsor.

It was then that Tennant, a member of the club, talked to his bosses about taking the over the historic tourney as the title sponsor.

''I think I can make this work,'' he said. ''Mainly it was out of duty to the club, but the extra benefit is the extra branding for Kalkreuth.''

A longtime Ohio Valley golf enthusiast, Tennant's ties to the tournament date back to 1977 when he was a caddie the year A.J. Gray defeated Tom Ackerman on the second hole of a sudden-death playoff.

''I certainly didn't want to see it go by the wayside,'' Tennant said. ''The history of the golf of the Ohio Valley is very deep.''

Fact Box

Tee Times for the 68th Annual Kalkreuth Roofing

Amateur Golf Classic

For Saturday

6:50 a.m.: Bernie Marcellus-Mike Smith; Brian Ghaphrey-Phil Lewton

7 a.m.: Dan Tennant-Andy Gaudino; Dave Sims-Jim Bittengle

7:10 a.m.: Mark Maguire Sr-Gary Kiedaisch; Seth Abraham-Donnie Guthrie

7:20 a.m.: Brendan Ball-Matt Ball; Wes Nickell-Stan Gorczyca

7:30 a.m.: Bob Potts-Mike Wilson; Jeremy Snyder-Russ Snyder

7:40 a.m.: Dale Forrester-Larry Goodnight; Mike Green-John Bailey

7:50 a.m.: Marty Crinky-Matt Hines; Samantha Swinehart-Kent Swinehart

8 a.m.: Keith Phillips-Brian Shonk; Mark Hartline-Dave Slonaker

8:10 a.m.: Dane Swinehart-Steve Swinehart; Ray McKenzie-Bill McKenzie

8:32 a.m.: Bill Glitch-Jim Dailer; Joe Doerr-Bobby Clark

8:44 a.m.: Matt Klug-Travis Nelson; Brad Archer-Alex Pentino

8:56 a.m.: Jay Mosa-Ed Burgy; Jim Lloyd-Mark Jarrett

9:08 a.m.: Rick Mikula-Dave Minda; Rob Cimarolli-Mark Cimarolli

9:20 a.m.: Steve Young-Bob Young; Greg Gaudino-Tom Gaudino

9:32 a.m.: Floyd Shuler-Mike Neal; Kirk Nolte-Bob McLaughlin

9:44 a.m.: Larry Lis, Jr.-Pete Dellovade; Larry Lis, Sr-Jason Lis

9:56 a.m.: Vince Oswald-Aris Andrews; Reasbeck-Reasbeck

10:08 a.m.: Dave Clarke-Jeff Sparks; Robby Evans-Doug Miller

10:20 a.m.: Shawn Pennybacker-Bill Piko; Jake Pennybacker-Chuck Hawkins

10:32 a.m.: Brad Bridges-John Trifonoff; Seth Vannoy-Turner Provost

10:44 a.m.: Tom Stillmak-Jade Waligura; Ron Helms-Mel Hand

10:56 a.m.: Brook Garrison-Garth Honsaker; Rod Lydick-Rico Simonetti

11:08 a.m.: Chip Yanen-LarryVallar; Eric Wyant-Andrew Strope

11:20 a.m.: Trey Peterson-Jordan Quinn; Howie Peterson-Austin Marinoff

11:32 a.m.: JT Carrigan-Scott Suter; Andy Carrigan-Henry Carrigan

11:44 a.m.: Dave Frey-Eric Fisher; Nolan Wilson-Danny McClellan

12:08 p.m.: Chris Palmer-Roger Waialae; Terry Dubois-Zack Dubois

12:20 p.m.: Brian Myers-Paul Kurtz; Joey Seabright-Scott Seabright

12:32 p.m.: Rich Colley-Paul Carney; Mike Potts Sr-Ray Hornick

12:44 p.m.: Gary Schrickel-John Becca; Justin Ferrell-Jamie Ziegler

12:56 p.m.: Wally Chlon-Jeff Glover; Jake Fullerton-Zack Eckman

1:08 p.m.: Bill Albers-Tim Gilligan; Bob Anderson-Bob McCrackin

1:20 p.m.: Corey Hellock-Brian Cox; Greg Humienny-Dick Antill

1:32 p.m.: Dana Hellock-Jim Humienny; Jeremy Fuller-Jeff Campbell

1:56 p.m.: Jared Jorden-Eli Lambie; Jacob Nickell-David Corum

2:08 p.m.: Thadd Obecny-Trent McPherson; Kyle Wensyel-Grant Van Lore

2:20 p.m.: Kent Russell-Rich Miller; Brad Shuff-Doug Savage

2:32 p.m.: Chris Boomer-Gary Mercer; Taylor Shane-Joel Shane

2:44 p.m.: Bob Haynes-Anthony VanTilburgh; Franklin Holley-Daniel Blair

2:56 p.m.: Dwayne Zilkovic-Jeff Godzak; Bill Stebleton-John Zilkovic

3:08 p.m.: Mike Spitak-Austin Lis; Chris Criswell-Brian McCulley

Since 2011, Kalkreuth has teamed with WTRF/Fox Ohio Valley as a co-sponsor to make donations to Easter Seals of the Upper Ohio Valley.

''There is no other tournament in Wheeling that gives all its money strictly to charity,'' Tennant noted of the event, a circle on the calender of all the top players in the area.

The field, which consists of more than 150 participants, will compete in medal and best ball in both championship and senior flights.

Among this year's participants include local OVGA Legends of Golf Larry Lis Sr., Floyd Shuler, Terry DuBois (a six-time champion) and Chip Yanen, along with past tournament champions Larry Lis Jr. (three-time champion), Joey Seabright, 2012 champ Eric Fisher and five-time Ohio Valley Player of the Year Bryan Myers.

Samantha Swinehart, a member of the University of South Carolina's women's golf team, who finished sixth in last year's tournament, will headline the class of female participants.

Kalkreuth sponsors $8,000 in prize money to the top finishers.

I am looking for: