Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS
 
 
 

Keep Hands Off The Phone

W.Va. police have issued 286 tickets since law took effect

December 10, 2013
The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

BECKLEY, W.Va. (AP) - More than 280 motorists have been cited for distracted driving violations in West Virginia since a new law went into effect July 1.

The law makes using a handheld cellphone while driving a primary offense. It also bans texting while driving.

Fines for both offenses are the same, $100 for a first offense and $200 for a second violation. Subsequent offenses carry $300 fines.

Article Photos

File photo
Officials say 286 citations were issued for distracted driving in West Virginia since a law banning handheld phone use and texting behind the wheel took effect July 1.

Officers with the Governor's Highway Safety Program issued 286 citations and gave 108 warnings to motorists from July 1 to Nov. 30, Beckley police Capt. Lonnie Christian said.

"The whole thing with the law is to make sure people have their hands on the wheel and that they aren't more concentrated on the phone than what's in front of them," Christian said. "If your phone is not in your hand, it's not a violation."

Officers began a media blitz to alert drivers of the new law a year before it went into effect. But some drivers did not get the message, said Lt. Paul Blume, coordinator for the highway safety program's Southern Region.

"You still have a certain amount of people, that no matter how much you've reached out with media and information, they're going to do what they want," he said.

"You can drive around on any given day and still see people doing it," Blume said. "I think the law enforcement and media exposure has made a difference, but anybody can tell you it's still a problem and still, probably, the No. 1 contributor to crashes."

 
 

EZToUse.com

I am looking for: