Dogs Down Bishops

BROOKSIDE – A pair of Ohio Valley Athletic Conference small-school powers squared off Wednesday night inside the John J. Havlicek Gymnasium.

When it was all said and done, Bridgeport (6-2) exacted some revenge against Bishop Donahue (4-3) with a 63-51 victory in boys’ basketball action before a rowdy crowd.

The victory, which stretches the Bulldogs’ winning streak to five games, avenged a loss to the Bishops in the OVAC Class A championship contest last winter at Ohio University Eastern.

”This doesn’t makeup for that game,” Bridgeport coach Donnie Cash said. ”But we’ll take it.”

Bridgeport grabbed a 14-12 lead after one quarter and added to that margin with a 19-12 advantage in the second for a 33-24 halftime nod.

Junior guard Tre Lindsey and senior center Nate Maleski combined for all but four of the points, with Lindsey knocking down 15 and Maleski bulling his way for 14.

Bishop Donahue sliced the deficit to 22-20 with 4:48 left in the first half, but a trey by Lindsey ignited an 11-0 run that saw Maleski tally six of his game-high 20 points.

A 6-2 run in the early stages of the third quarter allowed the Bishops to creep to within four points, 35-31, but the hosts were able to stave off any further damage and led, 43-36, after three periods.

”We didn’t shoot the ball very good,” Bishop Donahue coach Tom Wise said. ”We had some good, point-blank looks, but the ball wouldn’t fall. Fifty-one points is a low total for us, but we’ve only practiced one day in a week.”

Bishop Donahue couldn’t get any closer than seven points in the final quarter.

In addition to Maleski’s game-high point total, Lindsey finished with 18 points and Timmy Tracey chipped in 13.

Maleski also pulled down a game-high 12 rebounds.

Ryan Jones led Bishop Donahue with 16 points. Zach Whitfield added 13.

Harrison Central 62, Union Local 50

MORRISTOWN – Fletcher Watt led three players in double figures as Harrison Central (4-3) took care of Union Local (1-7).

Drew Phillips added 12 points for the Huskies, while Kyle Blanchard added 10.


Madonna 39, Edison 36

Madonna 38, Steub. Catholic 12

Nick Nero was the hero for Madonna at 215, breaking a tie 36-36 score in the last match of the evening with a 9-4 decision againstEdison’s Brandon Bradley to seal the victory. Madonna bumped up Garrett Hypes and Eddie Nogay in the middle weights to enable the Blue Dons to have a chance for the victory. Madonna won six of the eight contested matches.

Edison’s Danny Costa (152) and Dalton Herzick earned pins

Madonna won all five of the contested matches by pinfall to defeat Steubenville Catholic in the second match of the triangular.

Edison 60

Steubenville Catholic 15

RICHMOND – Herzick earned another pinfall at 189 to lead Edison to a victory against Steubenville Catholic. Also added pins for the Wildcats were Brandon Bradley (215) and Robert Hall (285).

Steubenville Catholic’s Cuyler Ledyard recorded a pinfall at 112 pounds. Peter Hermann won at 145.

Wheeling Park 56

Buckeye Local 18

WHEELING – Led by six pins, Wheeling Park took down Buckeye Local.

Winning by pinfall for the Patriots were Kyle Bauer (125), Cody Amos (152), Luke Braunlich (160), Tyler Settle (171), Mike Lough (189) and Zack Kimmins (heavyweight). Other Wheeling Park winners included Jon Roset, Hans Rogerson, Greg Myers and Codiak Garcia by decision, and Cody Berisford by technical fall.

The Panthers’ Tyler Singleton (103), Cody Wiltshire (119) and Ryan Pyciak all won by pinfall.

Beaver Local 46

East Liverpool 21

EAST LIVERPOOL – Behind pins from Mike Nentwick (171) and J.J. Intorre (285), Beaver Local was able to hold off East Liverpool.

Cody Parsons, Arizona Miller (major decision), Steve Swartz, Cameron Miller, Dylan Ice (major decision), Jake Henderson and Jonathan Brown all earned victories for the Beavers.

Frankie Williams (103) and Michael Buchheit picked up pins for the Potters, while Kaleb Riggle (130) and Anthony Ours (103) gained decisions.

Steubenville 30

Oak Glen 24

STEUBENVILLE – Steubenville received victories from Chris Tingler, Shawn McGhee, Chad Needham, Jacob Howarth, DeVon Wicker, Greg Moray, and Jamey DeVaul to defeat perennial power Oak Glen.

Moray won by pinfall in 1:48 while Art Hobley won by forfeit.

Oak Glen was paced by pinfall victories from Joel Paolo and Curtis Van Dyke. Kole Koper, Zach Brown, John McGill, and Vince Walker won by decision.