St. Clairsville’s Monteroso Is Player of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ohio – St. Clairsville’s Dan Monteroso is again one of the best of the best.

Monteroso was again named Associated Press Ohio Division II Player of the Year on Tuesday, based on recommendations of a media panel.

The Red Devils senior shares the award with Bowling Green’s Vitto Brown and Franklin’s Luke Kennard.

After helping guide St. Clairsville to the final four last season, he poured in 26.5 points per game in leading the Red Devils to a Sweet 16 finish. St. C. lost to New Philadelphia last week in Athens.

Cambridge senior Kyle Ritz was a second-team selection after scoring 19 ppg. for the Bobcats.

Steubenville’s Periogn West earned Special mention.

Indian Creek’s Alex Young, St. Clairsville’s Riley Carlton and Harrison Central’s Fletcher Watt earned Honorable Mention.

The Division III and IV teams will be released this evening.