Cimarolli Takes Lead at Kalkreuth Amateur

Rob Cimarolli, the 2007 Kalkreuth Amateur champion, shot a first-day 64 to take a one-stroke lead on Trent McPherson on Saturday at Oglebay’s Crispin Center Golf Course.

Bryan Myers is two back in the medal division in third with Thadd Obecny II one behind him, followed by the foursome of Mark Cimarolli, Zack DuBois, Larry Lis, Jr., and Bob Potts, all with 68s.

Mike Wilson and John Bailey each shot 67 to lead the Senior Flight, with Pete Dellovade and Jeff Sparks one back with 68s. Dave Clark and Rich Miller both shot 69.

The Cimarollis – Rob and Mark – are tied at the top of the championship best ball flight with the duo of McPherson and Obecny II at 61. Potts and Wilson are right on their heels with 62.

Sparks and Clarke shot 62 and are are four shots up on Bailey and Mike Green and Bill Stebelton and John Zitkovic, both duos at 66.