Lis Jr. Claims Sixth Stoney Hollow Title

WHEELING – If they ever rename the Stoney Hollow Tire Amateur Golf Championship, it may very well end up becoming the Larry Lis, Jr.-Bryan Myers Invitational.

After all, following Lis’ sixth victory in the 14-year history of the biggest event on the Ohio Valley Golf Association’s schedule, the pair have combined for 10 championships.

Sunday, Lis, Jr. fired a 69 to finish with a two-day total of 137 to outlast Myers (70 – 138) and Wheeling Park High School senior Thadd Obecny II (69 – 139) to claim the title in a finish that was not without controversy for second place at Oglebay’s Arnold Palmer and Robert Trent Jones layouts.

“I had a very solid round and played well (Sunday),” Lis, Jr. said. “But I played with Thadd (Obecny) for the first time and that kid is a gritty, quality player. It was kind of like a train ride for both of us all day.

“Thadd started a run with birdies on 13, 14 and 15, but I birdied 14 and 15 to keep it tied and we both finished with par on 16. But I got a two-shot swing on him on 17 that made the difference.

“He really brought something out in me that had been hiding for awhile. It also didn’t help (Saturday)that my putter was a little sleepy, but it definitely woke up (Sunday).”

Before Lis, Jr. got in, Myers had already turned in his card, finishing with a 70 for the day. However, a short time later it was discovered that while he turned in a 70, he signed a card that totalled 69. After everyone had arrived back, and following a lengthy meeting, it was determined that Myers’ card was good and his second-place finish stood.

Lis, Jr. actually entered Sunday in a five-way tie for second, that included Myers, just one stroke behind first-day leader Josh Anderson. However, Anderson carded a disappointing 77 Sunday to finish seven shots off the pace.

Myers was able to take home a first-place trophy, teaming with Rico Simonetti for a two-day total 130 to win championship best-ball by one stroke over Lis, Jr. and Rob Dziak.

Joe Hartman (77-70 147) overtook Saturday’s leader, Brad Crawford (73-78 151) to capture the First Flight title, while Hartman and Jim Tysk also took home First Flight best-ball (69-68 137) over Scott Sant and Dave Neer (69-75 144).

Dave Clarke’s 66 Sunday was enough to propel him to the Senior Flight championship. Clarke finished with a 69-66 135 to edge Mark Mickley (69-67 136), however, the duo did manage to capture the best-ball title with a 65-61 126.

There were plenty of thrills in the Super Senior division with playoff holes needed to crown both individual and best-ball winners.

Gary Schrickel (70-74 144) captured a one-hole playoff over Ray Sovik (74-70 144) while Sovik and Lynn Martin (70-66 136) needed five playoff holes to overtake Mike Greene and John Bailey (67-69 136).