Toppers’ Harris Is MEC POY

BRIDGEPORT – Cedric Harris of West Liberty has been named Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, Thomas Wimbush of Fairmont State the Freshman of the Year and Jim Crutchfield of West Liberty and Dwaine Osborne of Charleston shared Coach of the Year honors.

Harris, a senior guard from Zanesville, led the Hilltoppers to a 24-2 record and the MEC regular-season title. He directs the nation’s most prolific offense leading the team with 17.8 points per game and 5.7 assists. He leads the MEC in assists, steals and assist/turnover ratio and is sixth in in scoring.

Wimbush, a 6-foot-7 swingman from Lorain, Ohio, leads all freshmen in the MEC with 14.6 points per game for the Falcons. He ranks 13th in the league in rebounds (6.0) and 11th in field goal percentage (54.4). He scored over 20 points eight times this season, including a career-best 25 points against No. 2 Bellarmine earlier this season. He was also a second team All-MEC selection.

Crutchfield and Osborne share Coach of the Year honors after leading their teams to the top of the standings. Crutchfield’s Hilltoppers spent the majority of the season ranked No. 1 in the country and won the conference regular-season championship. Osborne, who took over at UC in early August, guided the Golden Eagles to a runner-up finish in the MEC after UC was picked to finish sixth in the preseason poll.

In addition to the individual winners, the league also announced its All-MEC team. Eleven of the league’s 12 teams were represented on the two All-MEC teams plus honorable mention. Fairmont State and Shepherd each had three players honored, while Charleston, Glenville State, Notre Dame, West Liberty and Wheeling Jesuit each had two.

Wheeling Jesuit’s Eric Siefert is a first-team performer, joining Harris. West Liberty’s C.J. Hester earned a second-team nod and the Cardinals’ Justin Fritts is a third-team member.

The All-MEC teams and individual award winners are selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.