Local Trio Is 1st Team All-State

Photo by Josh Strope Wheeling Central’s Jacob Estep (28) was named First Team All-State by the West Virginia Sports Writer’s Association.

Even though he was only a sophomore, Jacob Estep was a key component for Wheeling Central. The Maroon Knights finished third in Class 1A/3A earning them a spot in the OVAC tournament. Estep averaged about two goals a game as he found the back of the net 29 times along with 10 assists in 14 games for the Maroon Knights. With his efforts, Estep was named First Team All-State by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Along with Estep are Weir seniors William Rice and Luke Tenaglio. Rice was a shut-down defender with eight goals, while Tenaglio led the Red Riders in assists and intercepts.

Weir, which made it to the state tournament semifinals, also had goalkeeper Brett Hinchee on Second Team.

When Nitro opened camp this August, their shirts read “Unfinished Business”.

The Wildcats finished their business in Beckley, winning a state championship, and plenty of finishing was done by Seth Jordan and Zander Schmitt: 43 goals each, in fact.

Jordan, a senior, is the captain of the Class AA/A boys soccer all-state team after finishing the year with 103 points.

Schmitt, a junior, is also a first-team pick. He scored both goals in the Wildcats’ 2-1 championship game win over Robert C. Byrd.

Junior Justin Mayfield was also named as a utility player from Nitro.

Forward Emilio Buffey scored 31 goals and added 18 assists this season, leading RCB to the final for the second straight year.

The senior finished his career with 114 goals despite missing his freshman campaign with a broken back.

Fairmont Senior’s Jhonn Herrera was the fourth selection up top after a stellar senior campaign.

He is joined on the first team by teammate and midfielder Issac Swiger, who was selected as the Big 10 Conference Midfielder of the Year this week to conclude his senior season.

Charleston Catholic junior Jacob Cimino and Winfield Senior Brandon Bissett round out the midfield.

Defender Michael Hoffman and goalkeeper Ethan Malinoski anchored a Charleston Catholic defense that shut out Nitro’s potent attack for 100 minutes in the semifinals, forcing the match to penalty kicks.

Oak Hill’s Tristen Bragg is the fourth defender.

East Fairmont’s Corey Fluharty and Liberty Harrison’s Chance Howell earned utility spots after prolific scoring seasons in the Big 10.

RCB’s Khori Miles is captain of the second team after scoring 26 goals and passing out 12 assists as a sophomore.

Winfield’s Evan McKray, St. Joseph’s Nate Hugh and Herbert Hoover’s John Campbell are the second team picks up front.

The midfield is PikeView’s Sabastian Mann, Nitro’s Andrew Maharras, Bridgeport’s Tristen Nolte and RCB’s Eli Williams.

Making up the second-team defense is Sissonville’s Sawyer Watts, Charleston Catholic’s Tucker Newell and Fairmont Senior’s Angelo Potesta.

Utility slots went to Independence’s Sean Salmons, East Fairmont’s Aiden Slusser, Elkins’ Jared Parsons and Winfield’s Michael Englund.