Rosters Selected for OVAC All-Star Basketball Game

Annual Hoops Showcase Set for April 8 at OUE

BELLAIRE — Though the basketball season still has a few weeks to go, 60 seniors from across the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference know, for certain, they’ll have an opportunity to play at least once more in their high school uniform.

The rosters for the annual Samuel A. Mumley OVAC All-Star Game were finalized this week with the top 15 vote getters in both Ohio and West Virginia earning an invitation to the game, which will be held Sunday, April 8 at the Health and Physical Education Center at Ohio University Eastern.


The Ohio roster is comprised of players from 14 different schools. The only team with two representatives is Barnesville. Standout pivot Dulcie Christman will be joined by Sarah Powell.

The lone Ohio school to win an OVAC title was Cambridge in Class 4A. The Bobcats’ unquestioned leader — Lilly Ritz — was chosen for the team. She has more than 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in her illustrious career.

All told, the Buckeye State roster features five players with better than 1,000 points in their careers. Along with Ritz, they include Kylie Daugherty (Frontier), Taylor Franklin (Shenandoah), Kayla Huff (Edison) and Haley Porter (Union Local).

Two schools will be represented in the game for the first time. East Richland Christian’s Ally Stewart and Southern Local’s Anna Sevek will carry the banner for their schools.

The balance of the roster includes: Marissa Beal (Bridgeport), Katie Bradshaw (St. Clairsville), Jenni Carmichael (Buckeye Trail), Cierra Davis (Bellaire), Keirra Taylor (Beaver Local) and Alex Wiley (Harrison Central).

Guiding the Ohio squad will be Cambridge’s Dan Linscott and Bellaire’s John Farrier.

The West Virginia roster features five players who were part of an OVAC title-winning team this winter.

The Cameron duo of Courtney Walker and Kelsie Meintel drew a bid. They’ll be joined by the Parkersburg South duo of Allie Taylor and Devin Hefner along with Wheeling Central’s Taylor Duplaga.

Morgantown got a pair of nods in Aleena McDaniel and Aliyssa Neal. Clay-Battelle also received two bids with Abbey Ammons and Haley Barr earning a spot.

The balance of the Mountain State squad includes: Kasey Canei (Madonna), Avery Derrow (John Marshall), Kylie McKennen (Wheeling Park), Sophie Palmer (Valley), Emily Saurborn (Trinity) and Bailey Stead (Weir).

Coaching the West Virginia girls squad are Cameron’s Roger Cain and Trinity’s Mike Baldy.


The Ohio boys feature two of the most prolific scorers in the Ohio Valley in the backcourt. Both River’s Lukas Isaly and Bellaire’s Chase Yoho garnered one of the spots. Both are well over 2,000 career points and All-Ohio players.

Those aren’t the only players with adept scoring ability for the Buckeye State, which will be coached by River’s Mark Romick and Union Local’s Zach Delman.

Meadowbrook, which won the OVAC 4A title, will be represented by 25-points per game scorer Trey Singleton. Buckeye Local’s Drake Novak is averaging better than 25 points a game and is well past 1,000 points in his career. Union Local, which finished the regular season 19-3, will be represented by sharpshooter Ty Kildow.

Steubenville Catholic is the lone school on the Ohio side to garner two roster spots with Donnie Vandeborne and A.J. Connor both slated to play.

The balance of the Buckeyes roster includes: Caden Arbaugh (Harrison Central), Ray Burdette (Conotton Valley), Macrae Doyle (Bridgeport), Christopher Hupp (Caldwell), Jake Keenan (Toronto), Ryan LaFollette (Monroe Central), Austin Yaich (Indian Creek) and Josh Zandron (Shadyside).

On the West Virginia side, points won’t be the premium with countless offensive options available for Cameron’s Tom Hart and Trinity’s John Fowkes, who will coach the team.

Heading the roster are Wheeling Central’s duo of Brent Price and Owen Gainer. Both have surpassed the 1,000-point mark. University’s duo of Austin Forbes and Ethan Ridgeway, which helped the Hawks claim the 5A title last weekend, will also take part.

Parkersburg South earned two spots with Shane Snider and Cole Plants set to take part. Trinity, which won the OVAC 1A title, will be represented by Joseph Zinni.

The remainder of the team is comprised of Keyshawn Faulks (Weir), Leo Herrick (Magnolia), Chris Kokoski (Oak Glen), Robert Milliken (Cameron), Drew Selders (Morgantown), Levi Streets (Valley), Gunner Thompson (John Marshall) and Jimmy Zecca (Linsly).