Park Wrestling Gets 2nd At Doan Ford Invitational

Photo by Kim North Dylan Wood was the lone Patriot to secure an individual title at the Barnesville Doan Ford Invitational.

BARNESVILLE — Wheeling Park and Indian Valley were locked in a two-team race for the team title as the 49th annual Barnesville Doan Ford Invitational wrestling tournament entered the championship finals Saturday night in western Belmont County.

The Patriots trailed by three points and had five individuals in the first-and-second place matches to the Braves’ four. However, only senior Dylan Wood could reach the top step of the podium while Indian Valley went 2-2 in its bouts to claim a slim 227-.5 to 222.5 nod . Huntington was third at 158, followed by West Branch (151) and Claymont (146.5) to round out the top 5.

“We wrestled some really tough guys in the finals. I’m happy with everyone’s effort (Saturday). All of our guys came out and wrestled hard for the entire six minutes,” first-year Wheeling Park coach Brian Leggett assessed of the Patriots’ runnerup finish. “We got a lot of takeaways from this tournament. There are a lot of things we can improve upon.”

After watching his four teammates suffer defeats in the championship round, top-seeded Wood, who finished second in the W.Va. state tournament last winter and captured his 100th career victory last week in a dual against Brooke, pinned Claymont’s Kole Aubiel in 3-minutes, 9-seconds of their 220-pound bout. Wood was ahead 3-0 before securing the fall. Of his four matches, he won three by pin and the other by technical fall.

“Dylan looked great,” Leggett said. “He does all the right things at all the right times. He’s someone you’re always happy with. He went out today and performed very well.”

Finishing second were teammates were junior Canon Welker (132), sophomore Stevie Mitchell (138), junior Andrew Shelek (145) and freshman Hunter Nixon (160). Also placing in the top 4 of their respective weight classes were freshman Nate Shelek (third-113), senior Jeremiah Timberlake (fourth-152) and senior Jermain Snodgrass (fourth-195).

The only other local champions were the Martins Ferry duo of senior Drake Dobson (195) and junior Donte Lewis (285).

The top-seeded Dobson, a returning Ohio Division III state qualifier, wasted little time in dispatching West Branch sophomore Kenny Marra in 1:07. Of Dobson’s four victories, three were by falls.

Lewis, seeded just seventh, nipped fifth-seeded Dylan Wogerman of Athens, 3-2, for his title. The Purple Rider led 2-0 after one but found himself knotted at 2-all after allowing an escape and then being penalized a point for locking his hands while on the mat. However, he rebounded and recorded an escape early in the third period and then held off the Bulldogs’ junior.

Another pair of Ohio Valley Athletic Conference wrestlers winning championships were Shenandoah’s Alex Overly (106) and Meadowbrook’s Terry Gattrell (126). Overly decisioned Barnesville freshman Griffen Stephen, 5-3, with a late takedown.

Also winning titles were Coshocton returning Division III state runnerup Lucian Brink (113), West Branch’s Christian Wayt (120), Philo’s Shaun Pletcher (132), Indian Valley’s Brady O’Connor (138), Berlin Brothers Valley’s Tristan Push (145), Indian Valley’s Adam Lenhoff (152), Huntington’s Clayton Stewart (160), Athens’ Bill Wallace (170), and Huntington returning Class AAA state champion Zane Lanhan (182).

Wayt swept the special awards as he was voted the Most Outstanding Wrestler by tournament coaches. He was also presented the Jason “Peck” Lucas Award for most pins in the least amount of time.

JM Wins Own Invite

MOUNDSVILLE–John Marshall swept its own tournament against McGuffy, Buckhannon-Upshur, Ripley, Preston and East Fairmont.

The suspense came in a 1-point victory over McGuffy, where Brady Williams won the 285-class by injury default.

Austin Love won the 138-pound group by pin, Jacob Berisford won the 170-bout by pin, Bradlee Clark won the 220-class by pin and Anthony Carman won the 182-weight class by a 9-6 decision.

Williams, Love, Berisford, Clark and Carman all went unbeaten on in the invitational.

Creek Places Second at Weir Powerhouse Classic

WEIRTON–Indian Creek earned runner-up honors behind the Weir Powerhouse Classic champion Alliance.

Oak Glen finished third, Weir was fourth and Linsly came in at five,

Creek was led by victories from Dan Ross (120), Austin Starr (145), Logan Wilson (170), while Oak Glen’s Kaden Lundy (126), Gavin Ray (132), Kyler O’Connor (195) and Cole English (285) were also top of their weight groups.

Weir’s Donavan Kirby (220) and Garet Hostuttler (160) also emerged victorious.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)