Victory Awards Dinner, Sponsored by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, Is Set

WHEELING–The 73rd edition of the nation’s oldest statewide sports awards banquet will be held on May 5 in Charleston.

The Victory Awards Dinner, sponsored by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, serves as a showcase for the state’s top sports achievers and to induct members into the West Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

The newest inductees will be a Pro Football Hall of Famer, and the most decorated state high school athlete, in Randy Moss and Chris Smith, the most acclaimed basketball player in Virginia Tech history. The Hall, started in 1950, now includes 186 honorees.

Other honorees:

Hardman Award (Amateur Athlete of Year)–Jevon Carter, West Virginia University.

Furfari Award (College Coach of Year)–Kim Stephens, Glenville State.

Van Meter Award (High School Coach of Year)–Michael Gray, Webster County.

Evans Award (Boys Basketball Player of Year)–Jalen Bridges, Fairmont Senior.

Ostrowski Award (Girls Basketball Player of Year)–Shay-Lee Kirby, Parkersburg.

Dutton Award (Wrestler of Year)–Braxton Amos, Parkersburg South.

Lowery Award (Baseball Player of Year)–Chase DeLauter, Hedgesville.

Rachel Taylor Memorial Award (Softball Player of Year)–Kenzie McCann, Chapmanville.

McCoy Awards (Male & Female Trackpersons of Year)–Freddy Canary, South Harrison, and Tori Starcher, Ripley.

Morehouse Award–Dan Stillwell, Beckley.

Doug Huff Award–Anysa Jordan, Fairmont Senior.

Boys Soccer Player of Year–Joe Biafora, University.

Girls Soccer Player of Year–Emilie Charles, Cabell Midland.

Volleyball Player of Year–McKenzie Carpenter, Philip Barbour.

Kennedy Foundation Scholarships–Grant Harman, Martinsburg, and Graeson Malashevich, Spring Valley.

High school football awards:

Kennedy Award (Player of Year) & House Award (Quarterback of Year)–Connor Neal, Fairmont Senior.

Sam Huff Award (Defensive Player of Year) & Howley Award (Linebacker of Year)–Adam Murray, Wheeling Central.

Stydahar Award (Lineman of Year)–Doug Nester, Spring Valley.

Warner Award (Running Back of Year)–Hunter America, Doddridge County.

Moss Award (Receiver of Year)–Evan Parow, University.

Lee Award (Defensive Back of Year)–Grant Harman, Martinsburg.

Walker Award (Special Teams Player of Year)–Graeson Malashevich, Spring Valley.

Advance tickets for the public event at the Embassy Suites Hotel will be sold by state sportswriters through the April 29 deadline. No tickets will be sold at the door.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)