African American Students, Educators Honored at Banquet

WHEELING — The annual Ohio Valley African American Students Association honored 31 high school seniors at its 10th annual banquet held May 9 at the River City Banquet Hall in Wheeling.

In addition to the students recognized for their academic accomplishments, Brian Walker, a current African American educator, was honored with the Wanda C. Brown Award for Educator of the Year.

Also Edith Fuller, a retired African American educator, was honored with the Burial “Bo’ Holmes Award.

The Michael Green Memorial Award for the student who achieved academic success despite overcoming extreme adversity was Donovan Goddard. Also, the OVAASA Phoenix Award for Academic Achievement from a non-traditional student went to Kiesha Phillips.

Scholarship winners included:

∫ Ohio University Eastern Merit Scholarship: Sheldon Lekanudos

∫ WVNCC OVAASA Scholarship: Barak D. Lear II

∫ WVNCC OVAASA Scholarship: Jamaiah Hairston

∫ Wheeling Jesuit OVAASA Scholarship: Nyree’Anna Bledsoe

∫ Tito’s Sloppy Dogg Culinary Arts Scholarship: Dallon Jones

∫ Helping Hand/Listening Ear Psychology Scholarships: Ariana Hickman and Kyla Leigh

∫ The Timothy Midget “Know Thyself” Artistic Scholarship: Jordan Spears

∫ Daugherty Foundation Scholarship: TeVon Minor

∫ Ronald Scott Sr. Armed Forces Scholarship: Donovan Goddard

∫ Daugherty Foundation Scholarships: Neveah Lekanudos and De’Vaughn McWhorter

∫ Stradwick Family Scholarships: Nathaniel Blakely and Haley Brown

All of the students who were honored with OVAASA Academic Achievement plaques included: Sairah Wiley, Kyla Leigh, Ty Leigh, Barak David Lear II, Taryn Davis, Chandreonia Harris, De’Vaugh McWhorter, Kayla Young, Sheldon Lekanudos, Quadaizhanique Lumpkin, Nataya Bartlett, Nevaeh Colliers, Ariana Hickman, Nyree’Anna Bledsoe, Nevaeh Lekanudos, Keondre’ King, Anthony Robbins, Nathaniel Thomas Blakely, Jamiaha Hairson, Donovan Goddard, Haley Michelle Brown, Dallon Jones, Thomas Aronokhale, Sarah Munoru, Kendria Butler, Mikal Elijah Warfield-Payne, Corban James-Barret, Calvin McGaha, Tevon Minor, Jaylen Rouse, Jordan Spears and Quincy Dameron.

Sponsors for this event were the YWCA of Wheeling, Stradwick’s FadeCave, & McCormick Stables.

The keynote speaker was Demetrius Baldwin-Youngblood, faculty member and coach at The Linsly School.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)