Thursday Music Club Honors Students

WHEELING — The Thursday Music Club has presented awards to 48 students who participated in the 2019 Young Musicians Auditions.

An honors recital was presented at Vance Memorial Presbyterian Church for students who received ratings of superior or superior with honors during the auditions. Performers ranged in age from 8 to 18.

Students who received superior with honors ratings in piano were Grace Greene and Alina Holiday (piano duet), Chloe Patt and Urjit Sau.

Students with superior ratings in piano were Sydney Balcerek (piano solo, duet and trio), Trevor Borner, Aaron Chao, Katelynd Costa, Ella Green, Grace Greene, Tyler Haddon, Caroline Heil (duet), Andrew Hoang, Alina Holiday (piano solo and trio), Zach Kuttie, Brayley Lash, Joy Lin, Jayden Litman, Mason Mackey, Marissa Malarski, Elizabeth Martinez, Sienna McKeever (duet), Guy Meneely, Jacquelin O’Karma, Johnny O’Karma, Rachel Price (duet), Laila Reed, Brooke Sansone, Paisley Secrest, Ian Sincavich, Tabitha Straub, Annie Takach, Olivia Takach, Sophie Wagner (piano duet and trio), Hailey Workman (duet) and Bella Yoho.

Vocal students receiving superior with honors ratings included Emily Coram, Olivia Huval and Sierra Sterling.

Receiving superior ratings in voice were Lliam Gerney, Lyla Litman, Elizabeth McAninch, Caroline McLaughlin, Morgan Meihle, Ella Paras, Ally Sarras, Juliana Velegol, Sydney Warman and Kaylynn Yockey.

Scholarship awards were introduced this year with recipients selected by judges Gerald Lee, piano, and Angela Day, vocal.

Recipients were Johnny O’Karma, senior level piano award; Chloe Patt and Urjit Sau, junior level piano awards; Olivia Huval, senior level vocal award; Alina Holiday and Grace Greene, ensemble award for piano duet; and Emily Coram, junior level vocal award.

Junior level scholarships were sponsored by Sound Knowledge Studio. Senior level and ensemble scholarship awards were sponsored by the Thursday Music Club.

Ohio Valley music teachers who entered students in the auditions included Linda Benyo, Karin Butyn, Anita Chops, Barbara Daly, Barbara Hines, William Hines, Millard Neal, Marie Parker, Tonie Sivert, Janice Torrance and Kathryn Wallington.

The 2020 Young Musicians Auditions will be held March 27-28, with an honors recital April 5 at Vance Memorial Presbyterian Church. Geri Sloane, club president, encourages all area music students and teachers to participate in the 69th event.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)