Top Tyler, Paden City Students Are Honored

Top academic achievers from Tyler County and Paden City schools were honored once again this year at the annual Peoples Bank Academic Awards Ceremony. Events honoring them were held Tuesday and Thursday at Tyler Consolidated High School.

This marks the 38th year for the program, which recognizes students whose grades place them in the top 15 percent of their classes, and who have straight-A averages.

A highlight of the program is installation of students in the Academic Hall of Fame, which they can enter only by earning recognition at every one of the annual ceremonies for which they are eligible.

This year’s Academic Hall of Fame honorees, all from Tyler Consolidated High School, were Kyle Frum, Scott Gorby, Brannon Jones, Hannah Roberts, Katlyn Seckman, Lacey Seckman and Julian Work.

Of that distinguished group, Frum was the big winner during Thursday’s ceremony. His name was picked in a drawing including all the Hall of Fame winners – and he will receive a $1,000 scholarship from Peoples Bank.

Bank Vice President and Director of Risk Management Ann Helmick presented awards to the Hall of Famers, reminding those at the event the top achievers are “an elite group of students.” She urged them to “always strive to do your very best.”

Helmick added that being part of the event was a special pleasure for her because, while a student herself, she was honored through the program.

Staci Matheny, Peoples Bank’s senior vice president for retail sales and service, praised both students honored in the ceremony for grades 5-8 and the school systems from which they came. “This area continues to have a strong reputation for academic excellence,” she explained.

She urged students being honored to “continue to work hard – continue your passion for learning.”?That, she reminded them, “will provide you with the opportunity to be successful.”

Elysia Taylor, the bank’s vice president and regional manager FOR?EAST, was guest speaker for the program honoring students in grades 9-12. She told those at Thursday’s ceremony the bank views as part of its mission “making a meaningful impact” on the communities it serves. She, too, commented on the reputation for excellence in Tyler County and Paden City schools. It is “something to be very proud of,” she emphasized.

Invocations for the ceremonies were given by Arthur I. Boreman student Abbi Kimble (5-8 ceremony) and Tyler Consolidated High School student Damara Winfrey (9-12 ceremony).

Entertainment was provided by the Tyler?Consolidated High School Choir, under the direction of Bryce Negie; and the school’s Jazz Band, under the direction of Wayne Smith.

Master of ceremonies for both evenings was J. Michael Myer, executive editor of The Intelligencer and Wheeling News-Register.

Students honored during the Tuesday and Thursday ceremonies included:

A.I. Boreman

Elementary School

Grade 5 – Emily Ebert, Kellen Frank, Garrett Freeland, Christopher Hayes, Trenton Huffman, Gwendolyn Jacenkiw, Abbigail Kimble, Raylynn Roberts, Kaci Shanabarger, Autumn Shepherd, Ashlee Spencer, Ty Walton and Mallory Westbrook.

Paden City

Elementary School

Grade 5 – Justin Barker, Zachary Crane, Will McGinnis, Courtny Trader, Elijah Wayt and Zane Yeater.

Grade 6 – Alec Chaplin, Audrey Cross, Brandon Hizer, Gavin Lewis and Hallie McDonald.


Elementary School

Grade 5 – Saleh Al-Janaby, Kashia Brown, Leah Cathers, Bruce Garuccio, Jesse Griffith, Jayden Helmick, Walker Hoover, Leah Loudin, Maeson Maxwell, Mason Nichols and Evan Wise.

Tyler Consolidated

Middle School

Grade 6 – Madeline Cecil, Jude Childers, Layla-Lee Copsey, Jamie Daugherty, Audrey Dennis, Aleeah Fletcher, Kate Gorrell, Emma Grimes, Joshua Guild, Ayden Hoover, Karalyn Lynch, Ashley Brooke Mason, Zachary Morris, Jordyn Potoczny, Ezra Reed

Shauna Riggs, Madeline Tarnecki, Briann Templeton, Ardynn Weekley and Victoria Yost.

Grade 7 – Jenna Brinkmeier, Abigail Ebert, Savannah Ferrell, Alexis Huffman, Madeline Ice, Abigail Kerns, Hailey Lane, Aaron Moore, Sadie Nichols, Hallie Placer, Matthew Riddle, Blake Schwartz, Regan Smith, Sydney Smith, Katelyn Stillwagoner, Abigail Thompson and Kelsi Vandruff.

Grade 8 – Samantha Barnhart, Adonyya Childers, Hailey Cook, Madison DeVaughn, Rachal Hashman, Sarah Hashman, Alexis Helmick, Shawn Jones, Garrett Littell, Katie Miller, Jason Pratt, Braden Rine, James Tanner, Rachel Thomas, Judah Turner and Avery West.

Paden City High School

Grade 7 – Kelsey Michael, Isaac Neff, Presley Pierce, Rachel Price, Hope Weber and Mallory Yeater.

Grade 8 – Cora Anderson, Bradley Baker, Nicholas Clarke, Cameron Dennis, Anya Glover, Walter Joy and Abbe Stackpole.

Grade 9 – Delainey Lantz, Hannah Loy, Matthew Michael an Matthew Rexroad.

Grade 10 – Niko Glover, Levi Goddard, Aubrey Neff, Isaac Price and Shelby Schultheis.

Grade 11 – Alexandria Glover, Aaron Heasley, Hayden Hizer, Rachel Loy and Abigail Means.

Grade 12 – Lindsay Booher, Taylor Cosper, Michelle Doyle, Travis Leonard, Dezirae Middleton, Samuel Price and Aubrey Ritchie.

Tyler Consolidated

High School

Grade 9 -Nathan Barker, Haley Fletcher, Nicholas Gorby, Katlyn Griffey, Emily Jackson, Peyton Kocher, Emily Lancaster, Emily Litten, Hattie Murphy, Destry Nelson, Haiden Placer, Katie Pratt, Noah Smith, Sabrina Smith, Alaina Thompson, Marie Vandruff, Jolee Walton and Miranda Weekley.

Grade 10 – Colby Buchanan, Isabella Camerlin, Luke Daugherty, Kamryn Davis, Cheyenne Ferrell, Joshua Frum, Makenzie Kimble, Kyle Mason, Julianna Miller, Remington Miller, Amanda Reynolds, Rosana Smith, Theodore Stackpole, Scotlynn Straight, Donald Weekley, Autumn Wells and Mark Wilson.

Grade 11 – Hannah Ankrom, Jenna Archer, Mindy Bell, Justin Brinkmeier, Makaila Brown, Ali Cooper, Ross Gorby, Shayla Griffey, Courtney Hoder, Lenora Howell, Mya Ingram, Alexis Jenkins, Jarett LeMasters, Macy Long, Jennifer Lynch, Devann McCoy, Kamron Milhoan, Megan Miller, Brooklyn Pittman, John Shepherd, Makayla Shepherd, Kara Smith, Trenton Smith, Davi Stanley, Vanessa Templeton, Taylor Vandruff, Seminole Weekley, Madison West, Simon Wirth and Danielle Yonaley.

Grade 12 – Kia Barnhart, Rebecca Bolin, Adam Cooper, Karalynn Dalrymple, Nathan Eddy, Ariel Fish, Kyle Frum, Sydney Glover, Katelyn Gogan, Scott Gorby, Thomas Jackson, Brannon Jones, Brianna Kurfis, Jasmine Kyle, Colby Lash, Gabriel McClain, Marisha Morris, Federico Perez-Munoz, Baylee Roberts, Hannah Roberts, Katlyn Seckman, Lacey Seckman, Martha Shepherd, Breanna Snyder, Austin Thompson, Amber Watson, Brittany Weekley, Daron Weekley, Hogan Wells, Sydney White, Damara Winfrey, Julian Work and Savannah Wright.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)