Cameron High School Student Earns Fairmont State University Scholarship


FAIRMONT — A Cameron High School senior is one of three West Virginia students who will receive Fairmont State University’s premier academic scholarship, the Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship.

Angelica Starcovic of Cameron, the daughter of Stephen and Kimberly Starcovic, was announced Friday as one of the recipients. That means she’ll receive full tuition, room and board and a book stipend for up to eight semesters.

The other recipients were Tamara Boles of Bridgeport, a student at Notre Dame High School in Harrison County; and Bailey McInturff of Beckley, a student at Woodrow Wilson High School in Raleigh County.

“Fairmont State University offers many opportunities for high-achieving students, including our three scholarship winners. I look forward to welcoming them to our campus community,” said Fairmont State President Maria Rose. “At FSU, we take seriously our commitment to give our students exactly what they need to be successful in our changing global economy. Fairmont State University is a place where teaching and learning matter. FSU provides students with chances to create their own firsts based on their personal goals.

“All students should have the chance to expand their horizons.”

The high school of each of the winners was presented with a plaque featuring its student during the school’s spring awards assembly.

“The Office of Admissions and Recruitment is very pleased with the highly qualified candidates this year who interviewed for the Presidential Scholarship, our top scholarship,” said Amie Fazalare, director of admissions and recruitment at Fairmont State.

First-year recipients must maintain an overall grade point average of 2.75 at the end of their first year. An overall GPA of 3.0 is required for renewal during subsequent years, with a minimum of 30 credit hours obtained in a year of enrollment for renewal.

The deadline to apply for the Presidential Scholarship is in February each year. To compete for the scholarship, named by the Fairmont State Board of Governors in honor of Charles J. McClain, who served as the school’s interim president from 2008-09, a student must meet the following criteria:

∫ Be a West Virginia student who is a member of the Class of 2017;

∫ Be a PROMISE Scholarship recipient;

∫ Submit a Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship application and essay;

∫ Complete a Fairmont State admissions file prior to the deadline;

∫ Have a cumulative high school GPA of 3.5 or higher;

∫ Meet certain ACT or SAT score requirements; and

∫ Participate in on-campus interviews.

Students from across West Virginia who participated in interviews on campus were named finalists for the Presidential Scholarship, and will receive the Presidential Finalist Scholarship, which is valued at $1,500 per year and is a four-year scholarship. Local students who will receive the finalist scholarship are Amelia Nelson of Moundsville, who attends John Marshall High School; and Ashley Ruza of Glen Easton, who attends Cameron High School.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today