Pats on the Back

– To Moundsville Middle School teacher Jaime Pettit and New Martinsville Elementary School teacher Craig Mason. The two are among more than 200 educators from throughout the nation honored as 2019 winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

– To public school teachers in Ohio and Tyler counties. State officials say that during the last school year, Ohio County had the lowest number of teachers missing more than 10 days of work in the state. Tyler County teachers had the best overall attendance rate in the state.

– To U.S. Rep. David McKinley, R-W.Va., and Margaret Brennan, both Wheeling residents recognized last weekend by the state Historic Preservation Office. McKinley received the Betty Woods “Snookie” Nutting Award for Legislative Leadership in Historic Preservation. Brennan received the Individual Resource award for outstanding service to historic preservation.

– To all involved in establishing the Veterans Plaza at the Marshall County Courthouse in Moundsville. Memorial stones recognizing county residents who lost their lives in service to the nation will be unveiled there at 6 p.m. Wednesday.

– To East Springfield artist Joey Wilson and the Amsterdam Volunteer Fire Department for the new 40-foot-long mural honoring veterans. The mural in Amsterdam was painted by Wilson. The fire department spearheaded a fund drive for the project.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today