Elks Hoop Shoot Contest Winners

Eighteen girls and boys were recently awarded trophies in the Elks Hoop Shoot Contest sponsored by Wheeling Elks Lodge No. 28. The contest was held on Jan. 4 at Wheeling University. The contest included participants from public and private schools in both Marshall County and Ohio County.

Front row are third-place winners, from left, Erica Dobbs, girls 8-9 division; Rowan Gillespie, girls 10-11 division; Zuri Litman, girls 12-13 division; Mykel Davis, boys 12-13 division; Luke Sancomb, boys 10-11 division; and Luke Bordas, boys 8-9 division.

Middle row, second place winners: Aria Swartz, girls 8-9 division; Nora Shock, girls 10-11 division; Maddie Miehle, girls 12-13 division; Josh Huffman, boys 12-13 division; Landen Cook, boys 10-11 division; and Jackson Bell, boys 8-9 division.

Back row, the first-place champions: Morgan Miehle, girls 8-9 division; Helene Crall, girls 10-11 division; Alexis Bordas, girls 12-13 division; Eli Sancomb, boys 12-13 division; Jay Bordas, boys 10-11 division; and Liam Ryan, boys 8-9 division.

Each of the six overall champions will advance to the Elks Northern District Hoop Shoot Contest to be held Saturday, Jan. 18 at Pleasants County Middle School near St. Marys. The Elks Hoop Shoot is a national free-throw shooting contest for girls and boys ages 8-13. This year alone, nearly four million youths are expected to compete nationwide.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)