Many Local Hockey Players Named All-State

WHEELING — The West Virginia Hockey League has announced the 2020 all-state team after another memorable season.

After earning state runner-up, Linsly was represented by five players.

Those Cadets include Niko Ylikitti, Matthew Maroney, Ryan Dembiczak, Zac Taylor and Owen Ciavoliello.

Cross-town rival Wheeling Central was also well-represented with five all-state players that consist of Caleb Karnell, Kyle Brown, Ty Edgerton, Mason Smith and J.D. Lahood.

Tyler Britton, Tyler Weekley, Spencer Abraham and Tommy Woods each earned all-state spots after a strong year for Wheeling Park.

Back-to-back state champion Morgantown had five members in Blake Phillips, Reis Snyder, Brayden Wilson, Daniel Arthurs and Turner Lawrence.

Joe Petite, Keith Kuntz, Darius Swindell and Brendan Martin earned all-state honors for the West Virginia East Vipers.

From Charleston, Bailey Carper, Drew Allen, Justin Rollins and Cole Saber were selected.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)