25 apply to fill seats on WVa Intermediate Court of Appeals

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) — The West Virginia Judicial Vacancy Advisory Commission has released a list of 25 people who have applied to fill seats on the state Intermediate Court of Appeals.

The court was created by the Legislature this year. The commission will interview applicants, and the governor will appoint three judges for terms of 2 1/2 years, concluding on Dec. 31, 2024; 4 1/2 years, concluding on Dec. 31, 2026; and 6 1/2 years, concluding on Dec. 31, 2028, Gov. Jim Justice’s office said.

The judges will begin their duties by July 1, 2022.

The applicants are John J. Balenovich, S. Benjamin Bryant, Jim Douglas, Robert J. Frank, Daniel W. Greear, Edward Ryan Kennedy, Joseph L. Ludovici, Donald A. Nickerson Jr., Howard R. Nolen, Ronald Reece, Jenna L. Robey, Deanna Ray Rock, James J. Rowe, Thomas E. Scarr, Mychal Sommer Schulz, Debra Scudiere, Martin P. Sheehan, Mark A. Soria, William J. Stevens, Christine B. Stump, Charles Darren Tallman, Harry C. Taylor II, Gregory Alan Tucker, Crystal L. Walden and Keith Bryant Walker.